Community
Wiki Posts
Search

American Airlines Exit row window shade policy/requirement?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 1, 2010, 6:05 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Amb Elite & LT Titanium, Hilton Diamond
American Airlines Exit row window shade policy/requirement?

Unfortunately I've been flying AE for almost two years straight and live in the exit row window seat.

Last week, after all that time, the FA insisted that the window shade be open while sitting at the gate. If that's the rule/policy I have no problem with that, but in the past two years it's only been 'must be open during taxi/takeoff/landing.

The FA got very testy after I said that was different from the last two years and every other FA. After I complied she even when to the pilot to confirm and reported back to me which started to escalate a situation that was a non-issue at that point (i.e. if she wanted it down fine, so leave it alone).

The others that fly with me every week found the whole conversation/situation strange.

Anybody know the American Airlines rules or policies for the exit row window shades. A quick search did not appear to pull up an answer/discussion on this topic.
Old Aug 1, 2010, 6:45 pm
In Memoriam

Programs: aa plt 4.9MM LTAC
i have no idea, but! the few flights i've been on this summer, we've been asked to leave them down at the gate.....good luck...
Old Aug 1, 2010, 6:49 pm

Programs: DL PM, Hilton/Marriott Gold
I've been on several flights (usually during the summer months or in warmer climes) where the crew has requested that passengers put down the window shades at the gate to keep the plane cool. Were the other shades closed?
Old Aug 1, 2010, 7:00 pm

Originally Posted by deac83
Unfortunately I've been flying AE for almost two years straight and live in the exit row window seat.