Use/gain Miles effectively queries

Search this Thread

Old Feb 20, 2017, 10:10 am
siw
Original Poster

Programs: AF-KL Platinum, ALL Platinum
Use/gain Miles effectively queries

Hi,

I am a frequent flyer progam novice (currently AF/KL Flying Blue silver tier level) in the UK. I have tried to find out the best ways to earn and spend Award Miles and gain Level Miles and I am about 5200 Level Miles away from Gold tier level, which I would like to reach before a trip to SE Asia in December. I have read, and tried to understand, the various FAQs on the FB program and other frequent flyer blogs etc. in general but there are a few things perhaps the more sessioned folks can enlighten me on.

My flying is a few long haul business class trips per year rather than lots of shorter flights; i.e. intra-Europe, so I will never reach the number of qualifing flights for progressing/maintaining the level status, instead I get this by the Level Miles threshold. I do not know about other FF programs, most websites I've read only explain the various in the US, but FB Miles cannot be obtained on flights which were paid for using Award Miles, so how do people climb the tier levels whilst using Miles to cover the trip costs, basically everything here http://thepointsguy.com/ and here http://onemileatatime.boardingarea.com/? It seems to me that Award Miles should be used on non-flight stuff so that the maximum Miles can be obtained during trips.