Wiki Posts
Search

September 2014 Air France Pilot Strike? [merged]

Search this Thread

Old Aug 26, 2014, 5:03 pm
Original Poster

Unhappy September 2014 Air France Pilot Strike? [merged]

Aloha from Kaua'i!

I was just made aware yesterday of the Air France pilots wanting to go on strike for the month of September. Apparently a statement from the pilots union is to be issued August 28th.

My question is: I have only flown Air France once before, I really enjoyed it and so on this trip which starts from here in Hawai'i to Paris on Sept. 7th I also booked Air France.

What generally happens in these threatened strike situations? Since I am international long haul am I likely to be affected? What happens if you are affected? I've no experience with this and since this is a trip to Paris for two weeks that we obviously have saved and longed for.....I'm stressed out big time thinking that we may just see it vanish like that.

Any thoughts? We have only been to Europe (Paris) 3 times....so this is new to us.

Appreciate any thoughts on this situation.

Thank you.
Old Aug 27, 2014, 1:58 am

Programs: FB LTPE, BAEC GGL, EK Blue, SK Gold, Marriott Amb+LTT, IHG Diamond Amb, Accorhotels Silver
I would advise you not to over-worry on a strike, especially if you do not have intra-Europe connections out of CDG. Long-haul flights generally get the least affected by strikes.
In any case, transportation to your final destination and meals/accomodation will be provided by Air France in case of IRROP, as long as pushing back your flights back home if you want/can stay longer if your flight gets cancelled or heavily delayed.
Old Aug 27, 2014, 2:36 am

Programs: FB Plat for life, FB PC, M&M FT, Hertz President (+ many low tier cards)