Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 24, 06, 6:15 pm   #1
2014 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: YYZ
Posts: 933
Across the Pacific

Im flying AC YVR to PEK. The plane is a 767! Then I fly back from HKg to YVR and the plane is a 343-400. So does that mean that there is no IFE at each seat for either flight? How can AC stay competitive still no offerering individual IFE???

Also the YVR to PEK is J6C5. I am trying to upgrade both me (Elite) and a non-status member. Flight is one week away... any hope?
llbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 06, 6:44 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: YYZ; AC SE * DL PM * UA 1K * AA Plat * HH Diamond * SPG Platinum * Queen's 92
Posts: 5,798
Why ask questions you already know the answers to? The fleet is being upgraded, it was delayed due to a supplier missing a deadline and Transport Canada inspections. It is now back underway again. Nothing can be done about TC.
Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 06, 6:51 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In Exile
Programs: QFF WP :-0, AC, FlyBuys, Porter's Liquor Store, Mother's Helper
Posts: 2,493
You could pay for a J seat if it's that important to you. Think of all those Q miles you will get. Or, if you want "up-to-date" equipment - fly another airline that offers what you so desire of AC but are unable to recieve for now.
GoldFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 06, 7:20 pm   #4
2014 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: YYZ
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon
Why ask questions you already know the answers to? The fleet is being upgraded, it was delayed due to a supplier missing a deadline and Transport Canada inspections. It is now back underway again. Nothing can be done about TC.

Actually I thought AC had IFE to Asia as all the competitors do. I thought (wrongly) that the upgrades would make a difference to Europe as some airlines AC competes with do not have seatback IFE.

I think once AC is finished they will no doubt be the premier NA airline.

Thanks for your snarky response though!
llbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 06, 7:25 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Canada / USA
Posts: 5,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by llbean
Actually I thought AC had IFE to Asia as all the competitors do.
I take it you haven't flown on a UA 747 lately.
YYZC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 06, 7:50 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: YYZ; AC SE * DL PM * UA 1K * AA Plat * HH Diamond * SPG Platinum * Queen's 92
Posts: 5,798
No intention of being snarky, but it is has been beaten to death a million times hereabouts that there is almost no at-seat IFE and the upgrades have not yet been done, and the reasons for same...
Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 am.