Community
Wiki Posts
Search

posting miles - why the delay?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 3, 2018, 7:22 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1k MM, AA EXP MM, Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, HHonors Diamond, Avis First (oh boy)
posting miles - why the delay?

I'm guessing it has to do with legacy airline systems, but i'm curious why in 2018 it takes DAYS for United to post to mileage plus for a flight completed?

Granted, i work in tech and cloud and all that blah blah, but seriously - once you're on a plane and the door closes their systems KNOW this, so assuming the plane reaches the destination airport (also known once wheels down) crediting the miles for the flight should be essentially instantaneous.

What gives?
drewguy likes this.
Old Oct 3, 2018, 7:25 am

Programs: UA 1K 1MM, AA, DL
Good question . . . other airlines seem to manage credit by the end of the day of the flight if not sooner.
Old Oct 3, 2018, 7:49 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA Silver, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold
DL supposedly does this (I rarely fly them, and as such, don't generally check right away). Don't know about other carriers, except for Aeroplan, which definitely never credited instantly either.

I'd guess it's a conscious decision to have the mileage posting delayed. Why is an open question, and it's just a guess.

UA also, IME, likes to batch things, and based on reports that mileage tends to post at a specific time during the day (I can't recall the thread(s) that talk about this, but I definitely remember seeing them), that would be a reason why it doesn't instantly post. Interestingly enough, my TravelBank credit posted a day before (at least) mileage on my last trip - I don;'t recall seeing that before.