FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Travel Products (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/travel-products-639/)
-   -   Yet Another Luggage Question (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/travel-products/992284-yet-another-luggage-question.html)

patk Sep 6, 2009 2:02 pm

Yet Another Luggage Question

Hi All, long time lurker, first time poster. Need some advice on luggage

I'm relatively new to the overseas travel thing (first of multiple trips have been this year). My trips overseas require suits, and I'm typically in 3-4 days of meetings. Travel locations are usually Germany/Japan and China is on the radar later. I've read the tips about packing suits, etc, but I'm typically busy running around from town-town and I really don't want to deal with the careful unpacking/packing that's required (just about every night is a different hotel). My last few trips I packed the suits into a 22" carry-on, but was unhappy with the extra work required to make them "ready" the next day. I want to try a garment bag for the next trip.

My next trip is in 1 week to Germany, flying AA (business). I used to fly Lufthansa, but our company has negotiated an arrangement with AA and I now need to fly with them. LH was nice because there's a direct flight from Denver and there was lots of overhead space in business, but now I need to fly to DFW to get a connecting flight to Frankfurt. That flight is on an MD-80, and from what I've read here, the overheads are tiny, tiny, tiny and apparently, AA is checking sizes now as well from the various posts I've read here.

So I'm replacing most of my luggage. I ordered a 20" B&R baseline for my domestic travel (which from what I've read fits everywhere), but I want something for the overseas trips. I'm considering the tri-fold bags (B&R was recommended by GadgetFreak and others), as well as this wheeled carry-on

http://www.briggs-riley.com/category...rment-Bag_U374