Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > SAS | EuroBonus
Reload this Page >

Carrying poster as handluggage on SAS

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 31, 2012, 5:25 am
Suspended
Original Poster

Hi,
I soon have an flight where I need to take a poster with me, it'll be in a plastic container about 1m long and 10cm diameter.
I've never done that with SAS before and can't contact them by phone right now, so can any of you tell me if I'm likely to encounter a problem if I take this poster as handluggage? Checking it in isn't possible, unfortunately.

If it makes a difference the route is CPH-GDN on a CRJ900.

Thanks!
Old Aug 31, 2012, 10:54 am

Programs: SK EBD LTG (*G)
The last time I was doing that, was about 8 years ago on a route to US. It worked. I seriously doubt you will experience any problems. It is very light, and can fit almost every, otherwise considered full, luggage storage space.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 2:28 pm

Programs: TK M&S Elite (*G), SK EB Silver, various more or less shiny hotel cards
I often see PhD students and more senior faculty members in science, technology or medicine flying with posters en route to some conference. You'll be fine.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 7:45 pm

Programs: SK EuroBonus, DL SkyMiles, AAdvantage
Technically outside the legal limits: http://www.flysas.com/en/Travel_info...Cabin_baggage/

However you should be fine. Everyone I've encountered in Scandinavia has been quite lax with that kind of minor stuff. The same goes for DY. You can probably bring a rollaboard in addition and noone will care I believe eastern Europeans, as a communism heritage, are more inclined to enforce rules, so if you want to bring it back from GDN it may possibly be more of a problem (although quite frankly I have no idea ).
Old Aug 31, 2012, 9:49 pm

Programs: TK*G OZ*G AA Plat
Traveling to a conference perhaps?