Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Citi | ThankYou Rewards
Reload this Page >

Wiki/Reviewi For TYN 90K Fixed Redemption Strategies

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 3, 2009, 3:43 am
Original Poster

I'm no expert at this, but after spending hours reading through 100 pages of posts, I figured this might help newbies like me. Bear with me, I'm not a big flyer and I don't know the lingo like the experts here.

MAIN POINT: TYP are due for another devaluation as of March 1, 2009.

• Regardless of how you earned your TYP, the current maximum redemption value for a fixed domestic award is $400. I use redemtion values here, not earning values.
  • After 3-1-09, fixed awards will CEASE. This means the maximum redemption value of your TYP is 1 cent per TYP, using variable rewards.
  • Until 3-1-09, you can book a fixed BUSINESS class US/Canada ticket for 90K TYP with a value up to $2700. You may then cancel the ticket, and "carry-over" a residual credit voucher with that airline for up to a year or more. This nets a 3 cent per TYP redemtion value.

FINDING AND BOOKING BASICS:
  • You must CALL TYN for fixed point redemtions at (800) 842-6596. It is not possible to book fixed redemptions online.
  • TYN uses Expedia. You should also use it to double check their work when booking.
  • You should find a BUSINESS (not First class) fare that gets as close to $2700 before taxes as possible.
  • Look for Domestic (US) fares first. It is also possible to book Canada fares, but in my experience, they are harder to find and often codeshare or multi-airline flights.
  • Use search engines such as Kayak, Fare Compare, etc to narrow your search parameters by Business class, price, etc.
  • Prime routes such as LAX-JFK and other coast to coast fares seem to be listed here as often reaching the $2700 threshold. If you know your airline preference, use smaller cities where that airline dominates to find your fare.