Search

Newbie in a Predicament

Search this Thread

Old Aug 1, 2012, 10:58 am
Original Poster

Programs: Delta SkyMiles
Smile Newbie in a Predicament

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to points and miles and this is my first post on FlyerTalk. (Note: If this isn't the right thread, sorry about that! -- mod please move it to correct one).

I've spent the past month absorbing all of the Boarding Area blogs to learn what I need to do, and signing up for all miles/points accounts to prepare.

Kinda long post.. so I put a TL;DR at the bottom.

Here's My Predicament :

I really, really want to take my wife on an awesome vacation to Hawaii for our 2 year anniversary in February.
(we couldn't really afford anything for year 1, and honeymoon was kind of a bust as well :-\ )

I've already got a head start, but don't have much time left to acquire points and want to know the best way to do it. (and avoid any useless CC sign ups!)

Some Background Information

- [Edit] My wife cannot get any CC's because she just became a greencard holder and doesn't have a credit history in the US. We're starting her off with Student CC to build credit.
- [Edit] CVG is home airport
- [Edit] Spending capacity is about $2-3K per month
- I currently have 78,000 Delta SkyMiles
- I need 130,000 miles + $20 to go coach from CVG to HNL from Feb 22, 2013 to Mar 3, 2013 (doesn't seem so bad! Don't think I could swing First class though)
- I've had the Delta SkyMiles AMEX Gold card for 3 years now
- I have no other points anywhere
- I have 2 other crappy CC's that carry a balance and do nothing else for me
- My FICO TU score is 710 (as of 8/1/12)
- My FICO Equifax score is 670 (as of 8/1/12)
- I'm concerned about the difference in scores
- I've been paying down CC debt significantly over the past 2-3 months

My Goal

- Fly us both RT CVG to HNL for $20 + miles
- Stay at least 6 nights in SPG hotel level 5 or up (using cash + points if necessary)