Wiki Posts
Search

3 Tickets To Shanghai With Amex Points

Search this Thread

Old Sep 13, 2011, 8:46 am
Original Poster

3 Tickets To Shanghai With Amex Points

Hey guys and gals,

My mum has just informed me that we have close to 400,000 Amex points to spend and I was hoping to get my three roommates flights to Shanghai China during our winter break. I currently live in Columbia Missouri, but they'd likely being flying out of Chicago on Jan 2nd and return the 12th (Dates fairly flexible.)

I was playing with the Amex points feature ( I'm new to this travel hacking thing) and it appears to get them to Shanghai for free it would cost me 380,000 points. My dad is a platinum member so he gets the 20 percent rebate. I know paying with Amex points isn't always the most efficient method.

Ideally, I only want to use 200,000 or 250,000 points and then have them pay the rest of the fees (350-500 dollars each?) Any suggestions to the best way to go about this? What would be the best airlines to transfer the miles to?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Old Sep 13, 2011, 9:51 am

Programs: No Loyalty to any airline
I think you are posting in the wrong forum; maybe this will be moved to one where you can get more help.

Before moving any miles, you may want to look at eligible airlines and see who has these award flights available. Once you move the miles, you'll be stuck.
Old Sep 13, 2011, 9:52 am
In Memoriam

Programs: aa plt 4.9MM LTAC
your ? is not re mr's.....moderator has been alerted....another forum will probably get you better info....good luck...

ps.... you want another classmate for the trip?....
Old Sep 13, 2011, 10:45 am

Programs: Doing GS11, probably affiliated with every program out there
ok first of all, yes the post probably should be moved to amex mr forum. but here are some suggestions.