Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

AA 30k mileage run for 8 SWUs?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old May 20, 2012, 10:42 am
Original Poster

Programs: GP plat, SPG plat

As many of you know, AA matched UA 1K and GS members to explat. For those matched later than 4/30, AA offered 8 SWUs for completing 30k EQM by end of August. SWUs expire in Feb 2014.

My question is: is it worth doing a mileage run for these SWUs?

I've never done a mileage run before and am not too keen on flying for the sake of flying. I do value 8 SWUs though but will certainly not be flying enough before August to get there.
Old May 20, 2012, 10:56 am

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, National Executive
Will your projected travel make them worthwhile? If I was only going to fly domestic flights I probably would not do any MRs. On the other hand if there were some longhaul international flts looming I might be inclined to do so.
Old May 20, 2012, 11:03 am
ffI

Programs: AA EXP2M, DL 1MM DM ext, UA PP <=> HH G/Marr PE/Hyatt G/IHG P FT RA ( Recovering Addict)
Originally Posted by bouncingbug
As many of you know, AA matched UA 1K and GS members to explat. For those matched later than 4/30, AA offered 8 SWUs for completing 30k EQM by end of August. SWUs expire in Feb 2014.
I've never done a mileage run before and am not too keen on flying for the sake of flying. I do value 8 SWUs though but will certainly not be flying enough before August to get there.
If you will travel on AA by Feb 14 i intl Y on long distances, yes.
You can have a friend upgrade you on 2 flights to China or South America.
That will easily pay for it, you will have 5-6 SWUs left.
I would do it for the EXP line and for the free domestic upgrades.
Old May 20, 2012, 11:06 am
In Memoriam

Programs: aa plt 4.9MM LTAC
do you need the 30k run to requal for exp?
Old May 20, 2012, 11:24 am
Original Poster