Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Paying college tuition & earning rewards

Search this Thread

Old Dec 4, 2016, 6:09 am

Grad student who can pay tuition with credit cards

Hey guys,

Excited to be part of the community. I know the basics about reward credit cards, but I want to plan out my subsequent strategy carefully. I am a grad student and i have found out that my program allows payment of tution with a credit card for free. Obviously this is a gold mine to hit minimum spend.

I wanted to ask what strategies should I use to maximize this? which cards should i get and in which order. I have just been approved for a CSR and will PC my CSP to an FU. Therefore I am way under 5/24. (currently at 1/24). I also have a Citi Preferred which i want to PC (already paid the AF, oof). I will be making sure to ask the university if i can pay the bill over multiple cards so i can hit the spend of 2 or more. my tuition is at 10k a quarter. Only Visa and Mastercards.

I plan to travelling frequently to Singapore, which is why i got the CSP and freedom along with the citi preferred.

Thanks a lot guys.
Old Dec 4, 2016, 8:46 am

Programs: LH SEN; BA Gold
Originally Posted by abhi91
Excited to be part of the community. I know the basics about reward credit cards, but I want to plan out my subsequent strategy carefully.
First off, it might get difficult to find a credit card issuer that allows a student those kinds of limits. But yes: If they allow you to pay for your tuition (I expect in to be in the several Ks) by card, that's a good way to start collecting points/miles.
Old Dec 4, 2016, 9:05 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Originally Posted by WorldLux