FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Iberia Airlines | Iberia Plus (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/iberia-airlines-iberia-plus-683/)
-   -   Very Confusing Information - who is the operator of my flight? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/iberia-airlines-iberia-plus/1754018-very-confusing-information-who-operator-my-flight.html)

freakinflyer001 Mar 19, 2016 8:01 am

Very Confusing Information - who is the operator of my flight?

Hello folks,

I have booked on the IB website a flight (IB3179) from LHR to MAD for June in J class. All through booking the flight shows an A340-300 (343) operating, (and for obvious avgeek reasons I booked that flight and no other). But it was not until I received my e-ticket does it show that it was to be operated by BA under BA516. Confused, I tried calling BA and IB for clarifications but was given very dodgy replies. Can anyone here explain what's happening? I'm a CX GO member but this is my first time flying IB. First impressions have not been promising...

Thanks for your help and I look forward to reading your replies.

Adrian

Chorbs Mar 19, 2016 10:31 am

Hi,

I did this exact flight, BA516, last wednesday in J. When i booked it showed that it was operated by IB, when i was going to check in it told me it was operated by BA and directed me to BA website.

The aircraft used was an A330-300 operated by IB.

DELLAS Mar 19, 2016 12:33 pm

This is normal and IB/BA both sell the flight. It is operated by Iberia aircraft and crew for BA. I have taken this flight last year. It was a great flight and better than BA to be honest.

Just one word of warning sometimes they do an aircraft change to a A320/321 so just have that at the back of your mind. A few have got caught out with it and sadly there is nothing you can do.

flozano Mar 19, 2016 3:22 pm