Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Is this typical when booking Delta awards?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 8, 2019, 9:22 am
Original Poster

Programs: Marriott, AAdvantage, United, Club Carlson

I'm new to Delta, but over the last few weeks, I have been looking to book a US (BOS) to Europe (CDG) award seat for this summer. The only thing showing up are awards that cost 200,000+ miles roundtrip. Are DL awards typically this high when you don't book their specials or saver awards? I like DL's product but the sheer amount of miles required makes me think twice about if my loyalty is worth it since it would take forever to get that many miles.
Old Jan 8, 2019, 9:24 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: HH Diamond, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold, Hyatt something
Originally Posted by BostonFlyer1624
I'm new to Delta, but over the last few weeks, I have been looking to book a US (BOS) to Europe (CDG) award seat for this summer. The only thing showing up are awards that cost 200,000+ miles roundtrip. Are DL awards typically this high when you don't book their specials or saver awards? I like DL's product but the sheer amount of miles required makes me think twice about if my loyalty is worth it since it would take forever to get that many miles.
When you don’t publish an award chart, you can pretty much do whatever you want.
CO-PLAT and CPMaverick like this.
Old Jan 8, 2019, 9:35 am

Programs: DL DM, UA Gold, Alaska MVP, Bonvoy (lol) Ambassador

Outside of a flash sale, the lowest rate you will ever see TATL is 172K round trip - 200K is not bad (unfortunately) for Delta TATL. If you see a flight you like for 200K, you should take it. Most availability at most airports is more on the order 300-400K+.
Old Jan 8, 2019, 9:42 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Originally Posted by ethernal