FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta-air-lines-skymiles-665/)
-   -   529 miles from Platinum status (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta-air-lines-skymiles/1947592-529-miles-platinum-status.html)

BA Dec 26, 2018 1:20 pm

529 miles from Platinum status

I'm pretty new to Delta SkyMiles. I did the SkyMiles Status Match challenge from Alaska MVP Gold 75K, so I currently have Platinum status on Delta.

For next year though, I'm going to fall 529 MQMs short of Platinum, so will have Gold status. I already more than hit the MQD requirement, so I'm just a tad short of the 75,000 MQM requirement by 529 miles.

Should I just settle for Gold and take advantage of the nice MQM roll over into 2019? Or is there something I should try to do to bump myself up to Platinum before years end? Does Delta let you buy MQMs if I decide I want to close the 529 MQM gap I have? I won't be able to do any quick mileage run before the year end.

Thanks for any feedback.

TheHorta Dec 26, 2018 1:24 pm

Yes, Delta has MQM purchase offers. There are a few recent threads here on this.

Pushing for PM is a personal choice. Better UG chances, free award ticket redeposit, RUCs, slightly better RDM multiplier, faster / better telephone priority handling, and pretty dark gray Brag Tags.

jrl767 Dec 26, 2018 2:00 pm

Originally Posted by TheHorta (Post 30575922)
... Pushing for PM is a personal choice. Better UG chances, free award ticket redeposit, RUCs, slightly better RDM multiplier, faster / better telephone priority handling ...

imo these are the biggies

starting the year as GM with 24,471 rollover MQM certainly isn’t a bad plan, but OP needs to assess anticipated 2019 travel (MQM/MQD accumulation rate) and bookings (AmEx spend toward MQD waiver if applicable, needed flexibility for award travel) to decide what’s best

BA Dec 26, 2018 2:24 pm