529 miles from Platinum status

Old Dec 26, 2018, 1:20 pm
BA
Original Poster

Programs: Alaska MVP Gold, Delta Gold Medallion, Hilton Honors Gold
Question 529 miles from Platinum status

I'm pretty new to Delta SkyMiles. I did the SkyMiles Status Match challenge from Alaska MVP Gold 75K, so I currently have Platinum status on Delta.

For next year though, I'm going to fall 529 MQMs short of Platinum, so will have Gold status. I already more than hit the MQD requirement, so I'm just a tad short of the 75,000 MQM requirement by 529 miles.

Should I just settle for Gold and take advantage of the nice MQM roll over into 2019? Or is there something I should try to do to bump myself up to Platinum before years end? Does Delta let you buy MQMs if I decide I want to close the 529 MQM gap I have? I won't be able to do any quick mileage run before the year end.

Thanks for any feedback.
Old Dec 26, 2018, 1:24 pm

Programs: Bellevue Lifetime Premiere Mega Elite Supreme
Yes, Delta has MQM purchase offers. There are a few recent threads here on this.

Pushing for PM is a personal choice. Better UG chances, free award ticket redeposit, RUCs, slightly better RDM multiplier, faster / better telephone priority handling, and pretty dark gray Brag Tags.
BA likes this.
Old Dec 26, 2018, 2:00 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: SEA (the REAL Washington); occasionally in the other Washington (DCA area)
Programs: DL PM 1.57MM; AS MVPG 100K
Originally Posted by TheHorta
... Pushing for PM is a personal choice. Better UG chances, free award ticket redeposit, RUCs, slightly better RDM multiplier, faster / better telephone priority handling ...
imo these are the biggies

starting the year as GM with 24,471 rollover MQM certainly isn’t a bad plan, but OP needs to assess anticipated 2019 travel (MQM/MQD accumulation rate) and bookings (AmEx spend toward MQD waiver if applicable, needed flexibility for award travel) to decide what’s best
BA and TheHorta like this.
Old Dec 26, 2018, 2:24 pm
BA