FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/alaska-airlines-mileage-plan-442/)
-   -   Question about AA/AS benefits on AS flight tomorrow morning (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/alaska-airlines-mileage-plan/1294835-question-about-aa-benefits-flight-tomorrow-morning.html)

GallyChef Dec 24, 2011 7:41 pm

Question about AA/AS benefits on AS flight tomorrow morning

Hello all,
I'm relatively new to AS, having just moved to PDX a year ago. I'm set to achieve AS MVP this year, but just barely, with my last flight from HNL-PDX getting me over the hump on 12/30.
I am AA gold, and am wondering whether I may use my AAdvantage number to get my bags checked in for free and then simply change the ticket back to the AS number when at the gate (having already checked in)... I have some preferred seats for the flight, but don't really care all that much if I end up losing them, but saving the dough on the flights would be nice...

Any thoughts/experiences? This would be a one time (r/t) deal, as once I'm MVP I won't need to worry about the baggage fee, so just trying to figure out how to make it work this time...

Thanks!

evoG Dec 24, 2011 9:53 pm

since nobody has responded yet I'll take a stab,

you could try what you've suggested, I think gate agents should be able to change your FF# after you've checked in, though you might have a simpler time checking in with your AS # and flashing your AA credentials, charm, and good cheer at the manned check in counter to waive the bag fees. If that doesn't work, you could have them enter your AA number, legitimately waive your fees, and then try to switch back at the gate.

oneLnot2 Dec 24, 2011 11:55 pm