Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Reload this Page >

Question about AA/AS benefits on AS flight tomorrow morning

Old Dec 24, 11, 8:41 pm
Original Poster

Hello all,
I'm relatively new to AS, having just moved to PDX a year ago. I'm set to achieve AS MVP this year, but just barely, with my last flight from HNL-PDX getting me over the hump on 12/30.
I am AA gold, and am wondering whether I may use my AAdvantage number to get my bags checked in for free and then simply change the ticket back to the AS number when at the gate (having already checked in)... I have some preferred seats for the flight, but don't really care all that much if I end up losing them, but saving the dough on the flights would be nice...

Any thoughts/experiences? This would be a one time (r/t) deal, as once I'm MVP I won't need to worry about the baggage fee, so just trying to figure out how to make it work this time...

Thanks!
Old Dec 24, 11, 10:53 pm

Programs: AS MVPG75k
since nobody has responded yet I'll take a stab,

you could try what you've suggested, I think gate agents should be able to change your FF# after you've checked in, though you might have a simpler time checking in with your AS # and flashing your AA credentials, charm, and good cheer at the manned check in counter to waive the bag fees. If that doesn't work, you could have them enter your AA number, legitimately waive your fees, and then try to switch back at the gate.
Old Dec 25, 11, 12:55 am

Programs: AS MVP,Marriott Gold, Hilton Diamond, Hertz Gold, Starbucks Gold card
I believe that the FF number must match the benefits you want. So, if you want the free bags with your AA card, that has to be in the record. I believe that the agents are being instructed to not change FF #'s. Try it though. Report with the results.
Old Dec 25, 11, 7:12 am
Original Poster