Domestic a321NEO ‘Experience’

Old Nov 9, 2022, 8:35 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: NZ Koru
Posts: 6,420
Domestic a321NEO ‘Experience’

I flew AKL-WLG on OYA this morning, I was half expecting that I was about to walk onto Spirt Airlines.

But NZ seems to have kept some class, they are the same seat’s as the International a321N’s. Although san’s Inseat IFE, and USB ports (although I was in row 1).

Row 1 has a proper bulkhead, like the rest of the NEO’s with decent leg room.

Did notice that had opted for the AirSpace new style overhead bin, instead of the stupid pivoting ones of the International fleet. They seemed allot bigger than the CEO’s overhead.

Overall was an pretty standard NZ experience, although not installing WIFI on a 2022 build is questionable.

Seemed like the flight was 100% full.
cavemanzk is offline  
Old Nov 9, 2022, 10:33 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, NZ*GE, QF G, Accor Gold
Posts: 10,281
But no Space+ seating. Best is 83cm compared to 88cm on 32A. Yes, the seat is slightly different but still doesn’t compare in my view.
jeffrocowboy and mad_atta like this.
Thai-Kiwi is offline  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 12:58 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Zealand
Programs: NZ, IHG, Hilton, Accor, Hertz, FoundersCard
Posts: 298
Originally Posted by Thai-Kiwi
But no Space+ seating. Best is 83cm compared to 88cm on 32A. Yes, the seat is slightly different but still doesn’t compare in my view.
Unless one can snag an exit row seat, it would seem. 12A/F on the 733 was always the prize. Yet another Koru "enhancement", along with the loss of the cheap multi-trip travel insurance that used to be available. Makes me pine for the soap man.

justakiwi
justakiwi is offline  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 1:22 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: Air NZ Elite *G, Honors Gold, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 6,181
Why install WiFi? Nobody will want to pay for it and it simply becomes an increased cost.
sbiddle is offline  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 11:16 am
  #5  
Ambassador: Air New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wellington NZ
Programs: NZ Elite, EK Gold, Qatar Gold, Amex Plat, Accor Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,429
I flew on ZK-OYA as NZ412 on Tuesday morning.

Message received from NZ on Monday afternoon.

"A message from Air New Zealand.
With the exciting introduction of our larger A321 Neo Aircraft, we will be commencing boarding 5 minutes earlier for your flight tomorrow. Please be at the gate ready to board at least 15 minutes before departure.
We look forward to welcoming you on board soon!"

We boarded early, doors closed then waited for over 10 minutes before pushback. A few comments from around me about receiving message and then the wait.


Very thin Plastic.
Thai-Kiwi and cavemanzk like this.
WLG Base is offline  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 12:30 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: NZ Koru
Posts: 6,420
Originally Posted by WLG Base
I flew on ZK-OYA as NZ412 on Tuesday morning.

Message received from NZ on Monday afternoon.

"A message from Air New Zealand.
With the exciting introduction of our larger A321 Neo Aircraft, we will be commencing boarding 5 minutes earlier for your flight tomorrow. Please be at the gate ready to board at least 15 minutes before departure.
We look forward to welcoming you on board soon!"

We boarded early, doors closed then waited for over 10 minutes before pushback. A few comments from around me about receiving message and then the wait.


Very thin Plastic.
I got that text too for NZ405 yesterday morning, and just got it again for NZ452 today.

Yet never remember getting these tests when flying the International a321N’s on domestic.

Ironically NZ405 boarded late, yesterday due to airport resources…
cavemanzk is offline  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 5:41 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Programs: NZ Airpoints GE, Qantas Platinum, Accor Diamond, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 981
I was getting off an Air Baltic A220 (my first time in they type) and as we boarded the bus to the terminal this particular 321 did a missed approach into Hamburg. Obviously a flight test from nearby Finkenwerder. A Mexican VivaAerobus performed a similar manoeuvre later. It brightened up my rainy day seeing the Koru in an autumnal Northern Europe - and likely the only time you’ll see it there nowadays.
CHCflyer is offline  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 5:43 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hokitika, New Zealand
Programs: Air New Zealand
Posts: 144
Back from ZQN on ZK-OYA the other day. Not having the Space+ Seats is a huge negative. Its amazing how much of a diffence it makes. Not having WiFi isn't a biggy for me, as I never seem to have much luck connecting to it usually anyways. No need for IFE on such short Domestic flights.

On arrival at Auckland they only deplaned using the airbridge. No Air Stairs at the rear door. Full flight of well over 200 pax through the one exit..
HighFlyingKiwi is offline  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 5:54 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2,674
Originally Posted by HighFlyingKiwi
Back from ZQN on ZK-OYA the other day. Not having the Space+ Seats is a huge negative. Its amazing how much of a diffence it makes. Not having WiFi isn't a biggy for me, as I never seem to have much luck connecting to it usually anyways. No need for IFE on such short Domestic flights.

On arrival at Auckland they only deplaned using the airbridge. No Air Stairs at the rear door. Full flight of well over 200 pax through the one exit..
Was it weather or gate? As know some gates can't do stairs due to layout of apron.

Really need to make sure it goes to gates which allow stairs
nzkarit is online now  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 6:04 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: NZ Koru
Posts: 6,420
Originally Posted by nzkarit
Was it weather or gate? As know some gates can't do stairs due to layout of apron.

Really need to make sure it goes to gates which allow stairs
I think it’s just the one gate closed to to the props now that can’t take boarding via stairs?

NZ are currently down a gate, with ramp works going on right in front of there gates.

That new terminal can’t come fast enough, although it’s great to see some steel piles sticking out of the ground now.
cavemanzk is offline  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 7:02 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hokitika, New Zealand
Programs: Air New Zealand
Posts: 144
Originally Posted by nzkarit
Was it weather or gate? As know some gates can't do stairs due to layout of apron.

Really need to make sure it goes to gates which allow stairs
It was Gate I think, which hopefully will be avoidable in the future.

It really did take an age to deplane. Some people dawdle so bad!

Not a flight I wanted to be seated so far back on. But gotta book early if you want a decent seat nowadays....
HighFlyingKiwi is offline  
Old Nov 10, 2022, 10:57 pm
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: NZ Koru
Posts: 6,420
About to board OYA again in WLG, running 30minutes late. Yet only being de boarded and re boarded by a single air bridge.

Seems all of NZ’s AKL a320/1 services tonight seem to be running with delays of 30-60minutes.

None of them have used rear boarding tonight in WLG. JQ we’re using it for there AKL flight.

Maybe NZ’s passengers are a little bit more softer to rain?
cavemanzk is offline  
Old Nov 11, 2022, 12:16 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand (most of the time)
Programs: Air NZ Elite *G, Honors Gold, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 6,181
The weather today hasn't helped. I flew back from ROT and was OK but TRG and AKL have had issues.
sbiddle is offline  
Old Nov 11, 2022, 1:12 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hokitika, New Zealand
Programs: Air New Zealand
Posts: 144
Originally Posted by sbiddle
The weather today hasn't helped. I flew back from ROT and was OK but TRG and AKL have had issues.

Twice today I've tried to fly AKL - TRG and twice got diverted back to AKL. just one of those days Try again tomorrow
HighFlyingKiwi is offline  
Old Nov 11, 2022, 1:41 am
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: NZ Koru
Posts: 6,420
Originally Posted by HighFlyingKiwi
Twice today I've tried to fly AKL - TRG and twice got diverted back to AKL. just one of those days Try again tomorrow
If only you get status points for every attempted landing.
HighFlyingKiwi likes this.
cavemanzk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.