Wiki Posts
Search

Pay Taxes, Earn Miles

Search this Thread

Old May 31, 2001, 1:58 pm
Original Poster

Pay Taxes, Earn Miles

Hi Everyone,

Many of you probably know this, however, I came across this great site which tells you how you can get miles while paying your taxes. The site's address is http://www.fly-free.com/paytaxes.html. Before you know it, tax season is right around the corner.

To pay Federal Income Taxes with any Frequent Flyer Credit Card, use one of the following Toll FREE numbers:
1-800-2PAY-TAX (272-9829) Official Payments Corp.
1-888-ALL-TAXX (255-8299) Phone Charge
Or online at:
www.officialpayments.com
www.about1888alltaxx.com

If anyone has any other great ways to get frequent flyer miles please let me know. I am very new at this and am still learning the ropes.

Thanks,
Old May 31, 2001, 2:07 pm

This topic sounds more like an AD, but I'll reply just to help keep everyone informed.

This company charges a 2.5% surcharge to pay by credit card. This effectively eliminates any benefit of the miles received.....
Old May 31, 2001, 2:11 pm
Original Poster

Thanks pointman,

I didn't think about the surcharge. Well their goes that brilliant idea. I thought I could cash in but I guess it's back to the drawing board.

Any other ideas?
Old May 31, 2001, 2:23 pm
In Memoriam

Programs: ua prem exec, Former hilton diamond
My town lets you pay property taxes (auto, house, boat, etc) with a credit card, but only if they have gone deleniquent. June 30th, can't do it, July 1st, you can pay with a card.

If you let them go delinquent anyways, then it's worth doing. I believe the interest is 1.5% per month, with a minimum of $2.50. Certainly not worth doing just for the miles, but if you miss the due date anyways, and since they don't take checks for delinquent taxes (money order, ATM, Credit or Cash only), then it makes some sense to get the miles too.

Old May 31, 2001, 2:42 pm
Suspended