FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Question 13: Describe concepts from other boards that could enhance FT
Old Oct 14, 2005, 7:10 pm
ozstamps
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA Million Miler. (1.9M) Virgin Platinum. HH Diamond + SPG Gold
Originally Posted by VPescado

One thing comes to mind immediately: Allowing posters to retain ownership (ie. copyright) of their posts. I mentioned this in my platform.

Most other websites have policies that give the site the right to publish the content of posts, while allowing the posters to retain copyright to the posts. FlyerTalk's Terms of Service gives full ownership to FT.

This is not only unfair, it will limit the contributions that FT gets.
The author of anything owns copyright unless he is paid for exclusivity or waives his right to it in writing. I have been a journalist, editor, and publisher all my working life, and that is a fact. Whether here or in Europe or the USA.

Write and submit a short story about your dog, or your holiday, your upgrade hell, or your sex life and send that to Reader's Digest. They will tell you if they publish it, and pay you $5,000, they'll then own exclusive copyright if you agree to that deal. THEN you have in effect sold or assigned the copyright away.

Anything you type yourself you own. Period. If I type a trip Report and post it here I am legally free to post it or sell it anywhere I wish at a later date. From over 25,000 FT posts only a minuscule handful would have been posted outside FT, but it remains my legal right to do so should I choose. If Randy sends me $1 a post they are all his for perpetuity.