FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - St Regis Florence: world class luxury hotel with incredible location and F&B
Old Oct 10, 2018, 2:42 pm
bhrubin
Suspended

Programs: Marriott Ambassador and LTT, UA Plat/LT Gold, AA Gold
Originally Posted by offerendum
OK. Regarding this we are very differnt, I would never pay such prices. I stayed 1 night near Pisa and Lucca so no excursion and did a 1 day trip to Siena, San Gimignano and Volterra. As I drive myself I only took a rental car.

Do also Walking tours by myself, and think 400 € even for one whole day is a little much.
Btw: How long was it? The Major sights in one walking tour seems to be "sportive".

But of course, thatīs only my opinion and I know many people enjoy such tours.
All of those excursions departed around 9:45-10:00 am and returned/ended around 5:00-6:00 pm. We had about 2 hrs each with guides in Pisa and in Lucca—totally at our speed and doing what we wanted.

As I lead group tours for a living, I always want to have a private guide whenever possible. My husband, in particular, enjoys the details a guide often provides. I move at a much faster pace but we usually find a nice compromise...or else I also can wander off and reconnect whenever the tour or my husband get too glacial for my tastes. (My husband says my favorite way to see a museum is to fly over it in a 747.)

The last time we were here in Florence and Tuscany, we did drive ourselves. This time, I wanted to do it with a car and driver and guide when appropriate. Especially since we had my mother, who also appreciates the details like my husband (and who moves much more slowly).