FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Skipping the Darien Gap: sailing from Colombia to Panama
Old Aug 28, 2015, 5:57 pm
OrangeCrow

Programs: Miles and More
Skipping the Darien Gap: sailing from Colombia to Panama

Hello, FlyerTalk! I am a long time reader, first time poster. I have been travelling a lot in last 10 years. I usually travel long-term and slowly, no jetting around the world in 10 days. My trips rarely include planes and I'm new to this miles and points game. I hope to learn about it more though! Nevertheless, I think my recent trip on a sailing boat might interest some of you. Have you ever dreamed about island hopping in the Caribbean on a private yacht? Well, this is a perfect budget version of that!

Sailing from Cartagena, Colombia to Portobelo, Panama was a small part of my big trip. Since September 2013 I am cycling the Panamerican Highway with my friend S and my dog Tulku. Panamericana is a very popular route among cyclists, motorbikers and campervans. And all of them deal with the same problem - skipping the Darien Gap.

Darien Gap is a 70km gap in the 'longest highway' in the world. There is no road in those 70km, just wild jungle, ruled by guerillas. There are 3 ways how to skip this gap:
1. Get a machete and cut your way through the jungle. I have met quite a few travelers that did it and all of them have crazy stories to tell. Sadly, there are many of them who attempted the trip, but never made it alive to the other side.
2. Take a plane from Panama City to Cartagena, Medellin or Bogota. This is the cheapest and easiest way for the pedestrian travellers, but the ones with a vehicle need to arrange the shipping. Flying with 2 bicycles, 80kg of luggage and a dog is much more complicated and expensive. It's also fun to tell about it afterwards, but no fun actually being a part of it.