FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Why is domestic first so horrible, and what are the alternatives?
Old May 18, 2015, 7:19 pm
chrisl137
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by FrustratedTraveler
My laptop is a "portable server" with 12 cores and 32GB of ram due to the nature of my work, and gets about 30 minutes per charge. I could carry a second less powerful computer for flying in addition to my on-site computer, and deal with the additional hassle at security - but a better way to solve the problem would be the (working) AC outlet they advertise.
Traveling with two laptops isn't that bad except for the weight. I've been doing it for several years (two macbook pros) and have never had issues. On the rare occasion when I get precheck they both stay in the bag.

If your laptop sucks 180 W it's about 100 W too much draw for aircraft power outlets, which are mostly designed for about 75 W. It could be that the outlets work fine, but shut down when you pull too much current. You may be able to set your power settings in the laptop to reduce the power consumption substantially.