FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Alaska Lounge Meet-Up & Guest Offer Thread
Old Apr 10, 2013, 8:29 pm
edgewood49

Programs: AS Million Miler/Marriott Lifetime Titanium/ IGH Ambassador
Originally Posted by jackal
It is not simple conjecture. I have several years of experience in the guesting threads both as a sponsor as well as a moderator. I am confident that my estimates of the number of people who gain access this way are accurate. And you have others here now attesting that it is pretty rare for someone to take up the offer of access.

The issue of someone approaching the Board Room concierge and asking if they have access because they are flying international coach or have a Costco Executive membership or because their father's brother's nephew's cousin's former roommate was an AS pilot is completely separate. That does not have any bearing at all on the FlyerTalk lounge meet-up thread. (And I rarely see this happening at the BR--I usually see this more at United Clubs, where people flying in paid F do not have access to the clubs but come in asking for access anyway.)

Again, we are not standing near the entrance saying, "Come on in! If you don't have access, I'll guest you in!" FlyerTalk may be a global community on the "world wide web," but first, people have to find the community, and then they have to join the community, and then they have to invest in the community, and finally they have to discover this thread and make an effort to post in it. Pretty high bar, there.

And once they come in, it's not like we just go sit on separate sides of the room. We sit and (over an Amber or something) talk about what FTers always talk about at FT events: miles and points. It is always good to put a face with a name, and just like we all enjoy meeting each other at DOs, it is also nice to meet each other en-route. The lounge just provides a convenient setting to do so; it could just as easily be at an airside restaurant or Starbucks or something.