FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Motion Failed: Require Login to View Mileage Run Forum
Old Feb 17, 2012, 2:19 pm
TheBOSman
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Airline nobody. Sad!
This is my first time wading commenting on a TB discussion, so I ask for a little slack if I'm too far off base.

I'll start with that I would be strongly opposed to any sort of posting limit for MR. As someone who only recently passed the 180/180 mark so often quoted (sometime within the last week), who has made many posts in MR, started, by my rough guess, half a dozen decent MR threads, and made solid contributions to another at least half dozen, any sort of post limit on posting in that thread would hurt the overall community. I'm fortunate in that I discovered ITA Matrix well before I discovered FT, so I very, very quickly got up to speed with finding MR deals and manipulating them where possible. With a 180/180 limit, I would have not been in that forum until this week. How many people, even once they pass the 180/180 mark, end up visiting OMNI or CC? I would bet a good number of them do not within any short period of time after qualifying to see it. I would also argue that MR is far more directly related to the main goal of FT than OMNI or CC. Those are privileges for contributing members. MR isn't a privilege in the same way to me. MR is a major part of FT, and any major restrictions on it would be far more harmful to the community than it would be without those restrictions.