FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Europe by Plane or Train??
View Single Post
Old Apr 8, 2011, 7:34 am
pacer142

Programs: Flying Blue, easyJet Plus (!)
Originally Posted by europegrad
Seat61 is a good website, but it is a a mix of a fansite that got commercial.
It's a site about rail travel, and a very comprehensive one at that. It isn't a site about air travel, or indeed travel in general. You can't therefore expect it to say "don't do that, fly instead". Everyone knows you can get from A to B in Europe quickly and cheaply by air, and the information on that is easily accessible. Seat 61 only comes in if you're wanting to know about rail.

In that sense, its author proposes journeys that are absolutely ridiculous as a practical matter, like travelling from London to Rome by train.
There is nothing ridiculous about it at all, if you have the time. As a student, I used to do lots of that sort of travel, and it was really enjoyable. Nowadays I don't have time. Horses for courses.

He also downplays the hell that is station transfer in Paris via subway, particularly if you have luggage
I wouldn't call it hell. It's just a bit of a pain, like London is. If it's that bad for you, take a taxi.

Don't, of course, forget the "hell" that some airports can be!

and usually understate the danger travelers incur if they buy tight connections with different train companies - one gets late, you lose your connection.
If you mean "you have to pay again", usually not. The European railways have signed up to what is called CIV, which basically gives you the right of re-accommodation on the next available train. This applies to any international journey booked (not necessarily ticketed[1]) as such, though in reality it's applied even if you booked it in separate parts so long as it is the railway that is at fault. And I don't mean in the Ryanair sense of the phrase, I mean "if you missed the connection because the train was late".