FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - I was a United Summer Intern
View Single Post
Old Nov 8, 2010, 8:45 am
ezefllying

Programs: UA Premier Platinum, DL Platinum
Several of you have asked for details regarding the internship. As a number of posters noted, United operates a formal MBA program, and, while I don't know many details regarding it other than what others have posted, I know that the other intern at my hub was a airport-management graduate from, I think, the University of North Dakota.

I was not enrolled in the MBA program. My employment with United was, admittedly, the product of a fortunate referral from a friendly frontline employee and a far-more persuasive recommendation from a UA corporate manager with whom my father was colleagues elsewhere in the '90s. My hiring was initially conducted through the small office in which I worked and was only handed over to H.R. after the office decided I was a fit for the job.

So, to answer several questions, it was very much ad hoc, and while I'm hoping a friend of mine can get something like it next year (non-rev benefits, even as a companion, can be the best elite status in the sky), I believe my particular office won't be hiring another intern next year. Still, I'm happy to answer any employment questions more specifically, especially if you PM me. I'm sorry I can't offer more help, but, since the hiring was conducted by someone generally uninvolved in recruitment, and since the office doesn't seem to be hiring again, I'm uncomfortable providing my supervisor's specific contact information.