FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - AS drops 6 places in 2010 Airline Quality Report
Old Apr 21, 2010, 2:15 pm
EIPremier

Programs: AS MVP, Elevate, AAdvantage, Mileage Plus
Originally Posted by longdrelation
You really shouldn't bash empirical data like you do. Multivariate research does look like a phoney baloney formula, but it actually has some merit. Of course, as you point out, there may be some bias with weight given, but it is more than likely minimal.
I'm a scientist...I have no problem with multivariate research or the use of empirical data. My beef is that the authors actually don't take full advantage of the data that is published by the DOT. Also the authors garner publicity by making largely unsubstantiated claims about the airline industry in general. As far as the data analysis is concerned, the problem is that by just taking the raw data from the DOT and plugging it into a formula, the ranges of values for the different criteria are incompatible with one another. Instead of looking at overall on-time percentage, they should look at the percentage of flights delayed due to airline-related factors, the percentage cancelled and the percentage left sitting on the tarmac for 3 hours or more. It's all public data, published every month, and inclusion of such factors would make the report more meaningful, as it would be objectively looking solely at instances of service failures (along with lost bags and IDBs).
---------------------------------------