Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Special Interest Travel > Women Travelers
Reload this Page >

Question from a female travel journalist

Old Nov 30, 17, 7:20 am
Original Poster

Hi female FlyerTalk community

I'm a journalist and I'm curious: do you feel like the frequent flier online subculture is male dominated? I haven't spent much time on Flyer Talk, but judging as an outsider, many of the most prominent/widely-followed influencers in this space seem to be men. Curious if that's my perception or the reality. Obviously it's encouraging there is a forum devoted to women in this space, but I'd love to hear what the women in it think about this topic.

And just to be clear: I won't use any responses to this thread in any journalistic capacity without asking for expressed permission first. Right now I'm just asking for background/to get a general sense of this culture. Seems like a good place to ask .
Old Nov 30, 17, 10:27 am

Originally Posted by rojospinks View Post

I'm a journalist and I'm curious: do you feel like the frequent flier online subculture is male dominated? I haven't spent much time on Flyer Talk, but judging as an outsider, many of the most prominent/widely-followed influencers in this space seem to be men. Curious if that's my perception or the reality. Obviously it's encouraging there is a forum devoted to women in this space, but I'd love to hear what the women in it think about this topic.

And just to be clear: I won't use any responses to this thread in any journalistic capacity without asking for expressed permission first. Right now I'm just asking for background/to get a general sense of this culture. Seems like a good place to ask .
On FT unless one chooses to self disclose their gender, it isn't safe to assume. I have no idea what the actual ratio is, but for all I know, 90% of the people behind their screen names could be female. One of the most prolific, and most strident, posters is female based on her past comments.