Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Special Interest Travel > Women Travelers
Reload this Page >

Recommendations, preferable in East Europe?

Old Aug 9, 13, 11:55 am
Original Poster

Hello all,

I studied abroad last semester, and I took advantage of a lot of weekend trips in Europe. I was alone for most of the weekend trips, and I was fine.

Now since studies are done, I'm going back again, and I'd like some recommendations. I've been to most of western/central Europe (Ireland, UK, Lisbon, Spain, Belgium, France, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Netherlands, Italy, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Czech Republic, Poland, Sweden, Norway).

A place I've been eyeing at is Croatia, although I'm torn between Zagreb and Dubrovnik. I also heard good things about Riga in Latvia. I wanted to know what you all particularly enjoyed and felt relatively safe (I understand that most cities are safe, I'm going more on your experiences).

Also, I'm a pretty relaxed traveler. I love to walk around, see the sights, pop in a museum or two, or hike to a vantage point to see the entire city.

Thanks in advance!
Old Aug 12, 13, 2:09 pm

Dubrovnik is great

To get there, you have to go through Zagreb anyway, it is small so a day or two would be enough. Dubrovnik is wonderful, and I have been to most of the places you list.
Old Aug 12, 13, 11:27 pm
Moderator Communications Coordinator, Signatures

2019 Secret Santa

Programs: TubWorld, Bar Alliance, Borratxo Legendarium
Croatia is awesome. Haven't been to (or even through) Zagreb, but I really enjoyed the Split/Trogir area, Hvar Island, Plitvice Lakes, and definitely Dubrovnik.

If you're limited to weekends, I'd give it at least 2.
Old Aug 13, 13, 3:55 am

Seconding Croatia - it's gorgeous.

Riga is beautiful and I felt very safe there, but I found it to be very expensive.
Old Aug 14, 13, 12:45 am
Original Poster

Thanks. Looks like Croatia will be a definite trip. I'll most likely see both Zagreb and Dubrovnik as I'll have the time.