Westjet switching to Sabre

Old Sep 3, 09, 12:34 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seat 1A
Programs: Non-status paid F/J (best value for $$$)
Posts: 3,795
Westjet switching to Sabre

I've heard from my travel agent that based on an e-mail received, it stated that Westjet would be switching to Sabre for its reservations system.

Westjet will also be participating in BSP Canada and ARC (US) for ticketing and payment settlement. This could possibly mean that Westjet would start to have interline e-ticket agreements with various airlines.

Does this mean that Westjet is now going to be a one-class full service carrier?
daniellam is offline  
Old Sep 3, 09, 12:40 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: VCE
Posts: 14,161
Originally Posted by daniellam View Post
I've heard from my travel agent that based on an e-mail received, it stated that Westjet would be switching to Sabre for its reservations system.
I think they announced this in February???

http://www.travelpulse.com/Resources...l.aspx?n=52094
TRAVELSIG is offline  
Old Sep 3, 09, 6:45 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 627
Originally Posted by daniellam View Post
This could possibly mean that Westjet would start to have interline e-ticket agreements with various airlines.
=)

They've already announced partnerships with Southwest, Air France and KLM and will be announcing more with British Airways, Cathay Pacific and China Airlines.
TheGreatestX is offline  
Old Oct 7, 09, 1:24 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: YVR
Programs: AC*E, Fairmont PG, Starwood Gold, Priority Club Platinum
Posts: 118
Cutover to SABREsonic set for 16OCT09

Here are the details:

CALGARY — WestJet’s target implementation cutover date for its new SabreSonic Customer Sales and Service reservation system will be Oct. 16.

“Please be aware that our reservations system will be unavailable during our cutover window and this is applicable across all our distribution channels; GDS, westjet.com, and our call centre,” said the company.
The system implementation is expected to be completed by the early hours of Oct. 17.

In addition to its Sales Super Centre and the GDS systems, the platform for WestJet’s new Agent WEBLink will also be run by the SabreSonic web product.
fqtvboy is offline  
Old Oct 15, 09, 8:28 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Somewhere cold - preferably up a mountain
Programs: AC Subhuman (*A silver), NW Barely Alive
Posts: 842
There's now a notice on the main Westjet webpage saying that the res system is changing, and to download/copy the flights you have booked and profile info because neither will be available on the new system.

I need to book a trip today too... good thing they let me know to download the info!
billybob123 is offline  
Old Oct 15, 09, 9:27 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: YYC-Calgary
Programs: Aeroplan, Goldpoints Plus, Priority Club, Fly Blue
Posts: 131
............

Last edited by jong866; Jan 14, 10 at 4:14 am
jong866 is offline  
Old Oct 15, 09, 9:31 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: YYC-Calgary
Programs: Aeroplan, Goldpoints Plus, Priority Club, Fly Blue
Posts: 131
.................

Last edited by jong866; Jan 14, 10 at 4:14 am
jong866 is offline  
Old Oct 15, 09, 11:08 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Somewhere cold - preferably up a mountain
Programs: AC Subhuman (*A silver), NW Barely Alive
Posts: 842
Originally Posted by jong866 View Post
Where does it say this exactly, i can tseem to find it?
Interesting. It's gone now - was there when I last checked the site. Was where the login fields are on the start page.
billybob123 is offline  
Old Oct 15, 09, 1:04 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: YYC-Calgary
Programs: Aeroplan, Goldpoints Plus, Priority Club, Fly Blue
Posts: 131
.,..................

Last edited by jong866; Jan 14, 10 at 4:14 am
jong866 is offline  
Old Oct 15, 09, 10:15 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Somewhere cold - preferably up a mountain
Programs: AC Subhuman (*A silver), NW Barely Alive
Posts: 842
I just re-logged in to buy a ticket and the notice appears where the login fields are. Thanks for the info on the cutover.. brave to do it during the day!!! Any ideas on how long the system will be down?
billybob123 is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 2:51 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: YYC-Calgary
Programs: Aeroplan, Goldpoints Plus, Priority Club, Fly Blue
Posts: 131
..................

Last edited by jong866; Jan 14, 10 at 4:13 am
jong866 is offline  
Old Oct 17, 09, 8:25 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Somewhere cold - preferably up a mountain
Programs: AC Subhuman (*A silver), NW Barely Alive
Posts: 842
The new interface is a bit clunky. I liked the old version where it would show you non-stops at the top of each selection screen. Now they're buried in the other flights.

I also seem to now have no way to check my currently held itineraries. Hopefully there's no sked changes!!!!
billybob123 is offline  
Old Oct 17, 09, 10:15 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: YWG
Programs: UA 1K, AC E, *G x2, BMI Silver, SPG Platinum, Hyatt Diamond, PC Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,260
The online system, could not complete my reservation or seat selection... I was presented a page asking me to call to complete the reservation, although it does say how much my credit card was charged.

The westjet site says the itinerary is not ticketed, but virtuallythere says confirmed... there could be a lot of upset people who missed the message at the top of the booking confirmation page, but when they click the link to virtuallythere are under the impression that everything is OK.
Golden Toque is offline  
Old Oct 17, 09, 10:34 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 616
Originally Posted by billybob123 View Post
The new interface is a bit clunky. I liked the old version where it would show you non-stops at the top of each selection screen. Now they're buried in the other flights.

I also seem to now have no way to check my currently held itineraries. Hopefully there's no sked changes!!!!
Hi BillyBob! I just went to the new website, and it appears that there is a tab that you can click on to choose "non stop only" or "non stop and connecting" flights. If you choose "non stop only" it brings up only those flights. Hope that hint helps you out next time!
YYCguy is offline  
Old Oct 18, 09, 11:22 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Programs: Westjet Gold. DL SM (misses NW WP), AC AP, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 254
I found the Check Schedules link and it seems that it will not list all departures from a city for an entire week. You must now enter in a destination city, whereas on the old system you could leave the destination city blank and it would list every single destination city and whether it was a non-stop flight or if the flight required connections. I much prefer the old system for checking out the route schedules.

Last edited by YEGcited; Oct 18, 09 at 11:22 am Reason: grammar
YEGcited is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread