Why buy Westjet dollars?

Old Sep 27, 2023, 7:30 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Aeroplan unknown
Why buy Westjet dollars?

I am new to the Westjet Dollars reward program. I have flown them before, but just signed up for their rewards program and just got a shiny New WE WJ MC (I hope I got these abbreviations right).

Just wondering why anyone would buy these at $2 each (Or $1.40 with current deal) as they are only redeemable at $1 against Westjet products.
Please excuse Me if this has been answered before.
Old Sep 28, 2023, 5:47 am

Never worth buying outright as far I'm aware, but WestJet has special "Member Exclusive" fares that require a certain amount of WestJet Dollars to book - sometimes these fares can provide significant savings, so one might need to purchase some to top up to that required amount. I was recently able to help a family member use this to save 10% of the total price on a business class fare (they had a ton in their account purely from MC spending).
Old Sep 28, 2023, 9:01 am

Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Plat (earned as Starwood), Canadian Amex Plat & resulting statuses, WestJet Silver
Originally Posted by YYCCL3
Never worth buying outright as far I'm aware, but WestJet has special "Member Exclusive" fares that require a certain amount of WestJet Dollars to book - sometimes these fares can provide significant savings, so one might need to purchase some to top up to that required amount. I was recently able to help a family member use this to save 10% of the total price on a business class fare (they had a ton in their account purely from MC spending).
It's true, those Member Exclusive fares can be significantly cheaper. It can be frustrating to see when booking and you don't have enough WS Monopoly money in your account to access them.
canolakid likes this.
Old Sep 28, 2023, 11:12 am
Hyatt Contributor Badge

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, AA Gold LT
Originally Posted by YYCCL3