Frustration with Boingo on flights

Old Feb 20, 2022, 8:19 pm
Original Poster

Question Frustration with Boingo on flights

I have a WestJet Mastercard and with it, a free Boingo WiFi subscription for inflight usage. When I log into my Boingo account on the ground, I can see the various MAC addresses I've authorized on my account, etc. I have no issues accessing my account and have even reset my password to ensure I'm using the right one in-flight. I've had a few flights over the last several months and every damned time I try to log into Boingo via WestJet Connect, it's the same, frustratingly vague error: "Oops! Looks like something went wrong".

Has anyone else experienced this and been able to resolve it? I thought I'd check here first before contacting Boingo as I'm thinking they'll say, "call WestJet" which will be pointless.
Old Feb 20, 2022, 9:08 pm

Do you launch the WestJet app, connect to the aircraft wifi and select Internet usage, before using the Boingo login? Looking at your screenshot, it seems that is the case. I had excellent free Boingo service to and from LGW from YYC late last year.

I’m assuming you have also gone through the MC Elite Boingo registration process specifically for the WestJet card?: https://redeem.boingo.com/mccan/
FlyerJ and Da_Master like this.

Last edited by aerobod; Feb 20, 2022 at 9:17 pm
Old Feb 21, 2022, 10:09 am

Programs: Qantas LTG, WestJet Plat
Originally Posted by BradnerBoy
every damned time I try to log into Boingo via WestJet Connect, it's the same, frustratingly vague error: "Oops! Looks like something went wrong".
The only time I've encountered that error is when attempting to log in on more than one device.
Even if the other device is no longer connected to the wifi, you need to specifically log out of the device that was connected before you can connect with another one on the same account.
Vegabird likes this.
Old Feb 22, 2022, 10:36 am
Original Poster