Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > WestJet | WestJet Rewards
Reload this Page >

Westjet RBC Mastercard (First Checked Bag Free)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old May 5, 2020, 11:42 am
Original Poster

I am new to the RBC Mastercard, and I am looking for clarification as to how the free 1st bag (and up to 8 guests) works in real life. Some questions as follows:

1. The WestJet website doesn't seem to acknowledge it when booking a flight. Can someone confirm that?
2. What fare would you want to book (Basic, Econo, EconoFlex) in order to use this benefit? EconoFlex already includes a bag, so I would assume you wouldn't want to choose that one. Would you book Econo, pay to pick your seats, and not pay for a bag?
3. Does this benefit get recognized when you try and check in online, like 24 hours before? And if not, would you just say you don't have any bags when you check in?
4. If you have to do this when you get to the terminal, on one of the machines, what happens? How do you communicate that you want to use this free benefit and get the free checked bag for my group (wife and two sons). Is there a "Do you have the RBC Mastercard button" you have to push?
5. Do you have to use the credit card when making the reservation for it to work?
6. What if you pay for the flight using westjet dollars or credits? Will is still work?

Thanks for advance for your help. I haven't been able to find any information online about the actual steps you need in order to use it.
maxjasper likes this.
Old May 5, 2020, 11:56 am

Originally Posted by mjjhorto
I am new to the RBC Mastercard, and I am looking for clarification as to how the free 1st bag (and up to 8 guests) works in real life. Some questions as follows:

1. The WestJet website doesn't seem to acknowledge it when booking a flight. Can someone confirm that?