LAX is there a lounge for us?

Old Feb 1, 20, 12:35 pm
  #1  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Escondido CA USA
Programs: AS, UA, HY, Hil, Merr
Posts: 3,115
LAX is there a lounge for us?

Is there a lounge for us in TBIT, accessible with our cabin status?

Flying DL (Compass) in first SAN to LAX. Then switching to DL 6798 (operated by Virgin Australia) in Business LAX to SYD. both on same ticket.
ranles is offline  
Old Feb 1, 20, 12:52 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 15,854
Originally Posted by ranles View Post
Is there a lounge for us in TBIT, accessible with our cabin status?

Flying DL (Compass) in first SAN to LAX. Then switching to DL 6798 (operated by Virgin Australia) in Business LAX to SYD. both on same ticket.
Yes
From https://www.virginaustralia.com/au/e...lounge-access/

Los Angeles International Lounge
Access only available when booked on a Virgin Australia operated flight

Operated By: Emirates
Opening Hours:
For evening departures: Lounge access is available from 5:00pm.
For VA6 Saturday morning departures: Lounge access is available 4 hours prior to departure and closes 15 minutes prior to departure.

Location:
Tom Bradly International Terminal
Airside Departures Level 6
Mwenenzi is offline  
Old Feb 1, 20, 3:37 pm
  #3  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Escondido CA USA
Programs: AS, UA, HY, Hil, Merr
Posts: 3,115
Thank you Mwenenzi.

I was all over the link you provided and did not find an answer. I again checked it and still did not find it. That is why participation in FlyerTalk is so valuable! Even a web search by me did not come up this this access.
ranles is offline  
Old Feb 2, 20, 12:57 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: LAX
Programs: DL, UA
Posts: 278
Just for clarity, it's the EMIRATES lounge. Not the Los Angeles International Lounge, which is very subpar. The verbiage on the website makes this a little unclear, as there is indeed a Los Angeles International Lounge.

The Emirates lounge is excellent.

https://www.virginaustralia.com/us/e...ge-access/#LAX
nw6338 is offline  
Old Feb 2, 20, 5:25 pm
  #5  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Escondido CA USA
Programs: AS, UA, HY, Hil, Merr
Posts: 3,115
Thank you. Yes, a "little" unclear
ranles is offline  
Old Feb 10, 20, 5:41 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Delta Platinum
Posts: 1,499
As a Delta Platinum flying LAX-SYD, will I also be able to access that lounge flying in VA metal? From my understanding, my boarding pass will indicate Velocity Gold.
divrdrew is offline  
Old Feb 10, 20, 8:31 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltonGold
Posts: 21,521
Originally Posted by divrdrew View Post
As a Delta Platinum flying LAX-SYD, will I also be able to access that lounge flying in VA metal? From my understanding, my boarding pass will indicate Velocity Gold.
Based on recent experiences, if travelling in economy then no Delta Status based access.

You would have access to the EK lounge ONLY if you are travelling in Business Class.

You would have Skyclub access at T2 and T3 but you will need to catch an airside bus after that.

See here: Delta Platinum on VA from LAX - Lounge access

Last edited by serfty; Feb 10, 20 at 8:37 pm
serfty is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 5:37 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Delta Platinum
Posts: 1,499
Thanks!
divrdrew is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 5:54 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MEL
Programs: VA-PLT, DL-GM, QF-GLD, UA-ex1K, AA-exPLT, HH-DM, IHG-PLT, MR-GLD
Posts: 7,838
Originally Posted by divrdrew View Post
As a Delta Platinum flying LAX-SYD, will I also be able to access that lounge flying in VA metal? From my understanding, my boarding pass will indicate Velocity Gold.
As stated above, no. Delta Gold & above flying economy on VA has lounge access ONLY to lounges operated by VA and DL. Not to 3rd party lounges like the Emirates lounge at LAX. You can access the Delta Skyclub although it is not in the same terminal.

Your BP would say 'Partner Gold', not Velocity Gold. In most cases your perks are the same as Velocity Gold but unfortunately not for access to this lounge.
CPMaverick is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 10:54 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: LAX
Programs: DL, UA
Posts: 278
Originally Posted by CPMaverick View Post
As stated above, no. Delta Gold & above flying economy on VA has lounge access ONLY to lounges operated by VA and DL. Not to 3rd party lounges like the Emirates lounge at LAX. You can access the Delta Skyclub although it is not in the same terminal.

Your BP would say 'Partner Gold', not Velocity Gold. In most cases your perks are the same as Velocity Gold but unfortunately not for access to this lounge.
FWIW- my last BP (from a few days ago, LAX-BNE) said Gold on it, as a DL Gold. Not "partner gold." I was in J so I'm not sure about lounge access either way. But my paper BP, printed at the airport, definitely just said Gold.
nw6338 is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 5:12 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MEL
Programs: VA-PLT, DL-GM, QF-GLD, UA-ex1K, AA-exPLT, HH-DM, IHG-PLT, MR-GLD
Posts: 7,838
Originally Posted by nw6338 View Post
FWIW- my last BP (from a few days ago, LAX-BNE) said Gold on it, as a DL Gold. Not "partner gold." I was in J so I'm not sure about lounge access either way. But my paper BP, printed at the airport, definitely just said Gold.
Interesting; it's been some time since I used DL status on VA and actually just lost DL status a couple weeks ago. But it used to say 'Partner Gold'...

In any case the FF field will make it clear you are DL status and the rest of my post will apply.

If you are in J then you get lounge access based on your ticket and your FF status is irrelevant.
CPMaverick is offline  
Old Feb 25, 20, 6:24 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Delta Platinum
Posts: 1,499
Originally Posted by serfty View Post

You would have Skyclub access at T2 and T3 but you will need to catch an airside bus after that.
We fly out Friday. How long does the bus take from T3 to TBIT? I think we will clear security in T3 to make it easier, hit the lounge, then take the bus over to TBIT. Just want to know how much time to plan for going between terminals.
divrdrew is offline  
Old Feb 25, 20, 12:23 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltonGold
Posts: 21,521
Originally Posted by divrdrew View Post
We fly out Friday. How long does the bus take from T3 to TBIT? I think we will clear security in T3 to make it easier, hit the lounge, then take the bus over to TBIT. Just want to know how much time to plan for going between terminals.
I'd allow at least 75 minutes before scheduled departure.

The VA flight will ordinarily commence boarding at about T-45 minutes.

The Airside bus from T3 runs every 20 minutes or so at that time of night and takes 5 to 10 minutes. You are dropped off at the North end of TBIT and from there you need to make your way to the gate (of course if per chance you get a "Bus Gate" for your VA flight you'll be in the right place already).
serfty is offline  
Old Mar 2, 20, 6:09 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Delta Platinum
Posts: 1,499
Wound up being very easy. Went through security in T3 (one of the worst terminals in LA). Lounge access there, then took airside bus to TBIT. Very easy process. Buses arriving and departing almost constantly...no wait and we were the only pax on the bus. Confirmed with the ticket agent that DL elites have no TBIT lounges to access.
divrdrew is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: