IAD LHR IAD First Timer in UC

Old Oct 13, 2003, 1:59 pm
Original Poster

IAD LHR IAD First Timer in UC

We are flying upper class in November IAD LHR IAD on a 747-400... any thoughts on best seats? service? what should we expect? i know the suites are not on board - but how are the current seats? Last time I flew Virgin it was on a 340 with the old old upper class seats.

appreciate any help and guidance from the pros!
Old Oct 13, 2003, 2:56 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: Piggly Wiggly "Shop the Pig!" Preferred Shopper
I'm no pro, but I was disappointed in the current UC seat. It's okay for when you're awake and lousy for sleeping in. You have only one binary control -- you're either going upright or mostly flat. However, mostly flat is not flat, and you're angling down significantly. Many FTers have reported sliding downward in their sleep (or attempts to sleep).

The suites look like a huge improvement. Until then, I would much prefer an international business class seat on United, with its multiple controls, over VS's current UC seat.
Old Oct 13, 2003, 3:12 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Hi,

I like the current LHR Upper class seats ( J2000).I find the best position is to fully recline it then raise it slightly. There is also the lumbar suport .You also get a large pillow and a duvet ( no ordinary bankets here!!)
There is a seat guide on the

www.virginflyer.com

I like the Upper Deck seats ( row 2-3-4) although row 2 is the bulkhed seat so you may feel slightly less room.
One advantage of the Upper deck is that the window seats haveside storage containers.

Do not miss;
The IAD Clubhouse ( Gate B32-you can have a meal before boarding)
Take a Sleeep suit when offered ( and take it away with you)
You can eat when you want what you want on board.
Visit the bar on the main deck if you would like.