FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Virgin America | Elevate pre 2018 (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/virgin-america-elevate-pre-2018-642/)
-   -   Using AMEX Points to Get VX Status and then Alaska Status (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/virgin-america-elevate-pre-2018/1821478-using-amex-points-get-vx-status-then-alaska-status.html)

chickenmittens Feb 11, 2017 9:32 pm

Using AMEX Points to Get VX Status and then Alaska Status

I'm new to point redemption. Have worked up about 280,000 points on my AMEX Platinum card. I see that if I transfer 80,000 points to my Elevate account, that will give me instant Gold status. After that, I assume I could then transfer those points to Alaska at a 130% ratio and also have Alaska honor the status.

Question: is this a good strategy? I've never even had status on any airline so I'm not sure how good it actually is. Things like priority boarding aren't really worth anything to me. Upgrades to first-class, yes.

Thanks in advance!

ptownca Feb 11, 2017 10:13 pm

Welcome to Flyertalk and, yes, this the place for answers.

First where you are located and where you fly will help to answer if this is a good move or not.

Elite status, if you fly a fair amount is good thing TM.

IMO, more important than priority boarding is having TSA-Precheck, Global Entry or NEX
US. I just hate waiting to pass through security.

Getting AS to give you MPVG via having VX Gold is orthogonal to the points transfer. AS is automatically granting MPVG to VX Gold holders.

Need more info to say honestly if this is a good move.

chickenmittens Feb 11, 2017 10:17 pm

Cool. My two most frequently flown-out-of cities are Seattle and SF, so I end up using both Virgin and Alaska more than any other airline.

Jma12 Feb 11, 2017 10:37 pm

If you travel often then it is worth it. Also AS miles are more valuable imo. You also get RDM bonus as MVP Gold, as well for partner airlines.

CDKing Feb 11, 2017 11:12 pm