Status of Same-Day Flight Change or Standby AA - US? (consolidated)

 

Old Apr 28, 14, 7:02 pm
  #31  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ORD
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 2,520
Originally Posted by diver858 View Post
Booking with Avios is an entirely different animal - you will have to go back to BA to make ANY changes - NO standbys.
Is this a US policy? I have stood by before using Avios-booked tickets on AA without problem.

Edit: To clarify, I'm asking about standby, not MoveUp, the latter of which would presumably require the ticket to be reissued more than once in my case.

Last edited by linglingfool; Apr 28, 14 at 7:39 pm
linglingfool is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 8:36 pm
  #32  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: La Jolla, Ca
Programs: AA 2MM LT PLT; AS MVP Gold; HHonors Diamond; IHG PLT
Posts: 2,860
Anything that requires reticketing is a no go, as the Avios rewards are BA tickets.
diver858 is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 10:03 pm
  #33  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ORD
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 2,520
I understand that US won't touch these prior to the day of departure because they're plated on 125 stock, but I'm trying to figure out exactly what they will/won't do on day of departure. Obviously, as the operating carrier, they have leeway on which flight they're going to put you on, so the question is whether or not it's ever possible to standby for an earlier US flight when confirmed on a later AA flight. I would suspect this won't be the case until further down the road, but wanted to hear from anyone who had experience trying to do this.

Also, OP, sorry for threadjacking -- your thread was the most similar I could find to the question I had.
linglingfool is offline  
Old Apr 29, 14, 3:25 am
  #34  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,440
I just flew with avios points on US Air and was treated like excrement as a chairman elite on us. Once they see avios BA they just seem to hate you
Centurion is offline  
Old Apr 29, 14, 11:47 pm
  #35  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Programs: Hilton-Diamond Lifetime Platinum AA UA, WN-CP, SPG Gold.
Posts: 4,396
On US Air your AA award ticket will not allow you to go stand by on another US Air flight...without paying a change fee.

I tried it last week. They do give you lounge access.
satman40 is offline  
Old Apr 29, 14, 11:56 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: LHR
Programs: AA EXP, SPG PLT
Posts: 582
Originally Posted by linglingfool View Post
Is this a US policy? I have stood by before using Avios-booked tickets on AA without problem.

Edit: To clarify, I'm asking about standby, not MoveUp, the latter of which would presumably require the ticket to be reissued more than once in my case.
Pure standby on AA metal is okay. Anything else, including standing by another co-terminal airport (e.g. ORD-LGA to ORD-JFK) is not allowed on BA award ticket.
keepssmile is offline  
Old Apr 30, 14, 9:00 am
  #37  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ORD
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 2,520
Originally Posted by satman40 View Post
On US Air your AA award ticket will not allow you to go stand by on another US Air flight...without paying a change fee.

I tried it last week. They do give you lounge access.
To clarify, was your award originally booked on an AA or a US flight # when you tried to standby for the earlier US flight?
linglingfool is offline  
Old May 24, 14, 8:34 am
  #38  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Apex, NC
Programs: AA EXP, Delta GM, Honors Diamond, Hertz Presidents Club
Posts: 92
Same day standby mixed scenario (SDS on AA codeshare op by US?)

Did a couple of searches and can't find this scenario.....

AA PLT.
AA ticket.
AA flight numbers, US code share.
Example: AA ticket for US operated LGA-DCA-RDU.

When I get to LGA, can I SDS for a direct LGA-RDU on AA?
kesco is offline  
Old May 29, 14, 2:43 pm
  #39  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1P
Posts: 183
Same question here and genuinely did try to search for it beforehand.. sorry if I've missed it. Guess I lied a little, the scenario is: AA PLT, AA ticketed and AA operated, can I SDS or use some other same-day change mechanism to fly US metal to the same destination?

Thanks!
pbohannon is offline  
Old May 30, 14, 5:35 am
  #40  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Apex, NC
Programs: AA EXP, Delta GM, Honors Diamond, Hertz Presidents Club
Posts: 92
So my understanding of the answer to your scenario: NO. Because you can't SDS TO a codeshare.

My scenario is different. AA PLT, AA ticket, AA flights but US codeshare, wanting to SDS on AA.

I'll know for sure in 2 days (travelling 6/1).

AA via twitter told me SDS should be fine in this scenario as it's an AA ticket but they had to check on same day confirmed for $75. But agent in airport told me differently. We'll find out
kesco is offline  
Old Jun 5, 14, 7:32 pm
  #41  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Programs: All major programs
Posts: 1,403
I have an award ticket booked (for tomorrow) on AA operated flights using BA miles. AA wouldn't allow me to change (same day confirmed) to an earlier AA operated flight over the phone. Is there away they would allow me to do it at the airport assuming the seats are available? Pls let me know if someone has a recent experience. Thanks.
gv111 is offline  
Old Jun 5, 14, 7:40 pm
  #42  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: DFW
Programs: AA Gold, Hyatt Diamond, Hilton Gold
Posts: 477
Originally Posted by gv111 View Post
I have an award ticket booked (for tomorrow) on AA operated flights using BA miles. AA wouldn't allow me to change (same day confirmed) to an earlier AA operated flight over the phone. Is there away they would allow me to do it at the airport assuming the seats are available? Pls let me know if someone has a recent experience. Thanks.
Yup. I've done it on Avios tickets.
britishcanuck is offline  
Old Jun 5, 14, 7:46 pm
  #43  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Programs: All major programs
Posts: 1,403
Originally Posted by britishcanuck View Post
Yup. I've done it on Avios tickets.
Thanks! Can you pls add some details? Like if it was at the airport or phone, did u have to pay the $75 fees, if they did it readily or u had to speak to a supervisor etc. Trying to take an earlier flight else I will reach after 1 AM. So any further insight is highly appreciated. Thanks.
gv111 is offline  
Old Jun 5, 14, 7:57 pm
  #44  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: DFW
Programs: AA Gold, Hyatt Diamond, Hilton Gold
Posts: 477
I did it at the airport. Walked up to the check-in desk and asked if I could switch to the earlier flight. I was flying DFW-IAD and switched to DFW-DCA. I am AA Gold, so no $75 fee. Not sure what the fees are if you don't have status.
britishcanuck is offline  
Old Jun 5, 14, 8:59 pm
  #45  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Ambassador/Plat, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 590
Originally Posted by britishcanuck View Post
I did it at the airport. Walked up to the check-in desk and asked if I could switch to the earlier flight. I was flying DFW-IAD and switched to DFW-DCA. I am AA Gold, so no $75 fee. Not sure what the fees are if you don't have status.
The $75 fee exists regardless of your status. I'm an EXP, and always get charged this fee. You must have gotten a nice agent.
Cuse44 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread