Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Luggage size

Search this Thread

Old Aug 8, 2012, 1:14 pm
Original Poster

Luggage size

I feel like a total newbie and I should know the answer to this. I recently bought a 29" Travelpro suitcase. The combined size is 62 inches. I want to check the luggage not carry it on. I know better than that. I did ask about the size when I purchased it.

According to the US site 62 and over is oversize the way I read it.
Oversize checked bags

+ $175 each
Dimensions between 62 – 80 in/157 – 203 cm

Travelpro says it not oversize.

Do I need to buy a new suitcase? Thanks.
Old Aug 8, 2012, 1:20 pm

Programs: AA EXP, UA Silver, Marriott Plat, SPG Plat 100, National Exec Elite, Hertz PC, AmEx Plat
62 in. is technically the limit, so is the agent going to call you out for a bag that's 62 on the nose? Most likely not. Should they? No. But for my money, it's one hell of a calculated risk for $175.

Travelpro wouldn't be in a position to comment on whether it was oversize, as each airline's requirements vary slightly.

Last edited by MikeORD; Aug 8, 2012 at 1:25 pm Reason: Stupidity
Old Aug 8, 2012, 1:28 pm
Original Poster

That is what I am thinking. I know not to take the word of Travelpro but asked that question when I purchased it and then again today. I can use it when cruising but don't want to gamble at the airport.

I don't want to hear are you feeling lucky today safetymom? Thanks.
Old Aug 8, 2012, 4:51 pm

Programs: UA LT Gold, American Kettle, Hertz #1 Presidents Circle, Marriott LT Platinum
Has anyone actually ever seen an agent measure the bag? As a 75-100K flyer for the past 15 years I have yet to see a bag get measured. Thrown on the scale all the time, but actually whip out a tape measure and apply it to the bag?

Cheers,
Old Aug 8, 2012, 4:59 pm

Programs: AA-EXP, MR-PP