Musical Instruments on US Airways

Old Jul 8, 2010, 12:22 am
Original Poster

Musical Instruments on US Airways

Hey everyone,

I just reached silver after making enough segments, but I have a question. On this upcoming flight I'm going to be traveling with my guitar. It's thin and is in a soft case so it shouldn't take up too much space. I haven't had any trouble on any other airlines but this is my first time flying US with my guitar, has anyone had any experience flying with their instrument on US? Hassles with instruments at the airport is the worst thing so any info/tips would be great, thanks!

James
Old Jul 8, 2010, 12:54 am

Programs: US CP, DL SM, Marriott Silver, Amex Plat
Ive seen some people have problems and others not. it really depends on the FA and their mood. If you can board early, you can probably put it in the overhead or ask the FA to store it in the FC cabin.

Just remember it has to be stored and can not be somewhere where it can move, i.e. in your lap, resting against a seat, etc. A lot of flights I take from SFO always seem to have one or two people with a guitar and people boarding in zone 3 or 4 usually have to check it because of limited space.

Good luck tho
Old Jul 8, 2010, 2:34 am

Programs: None
As long as it's not over 79" for combined length, width, and height it'll meet the carry-on size limit. If so the only problems you may have are no overhead bin space left or one of more of your flights are on Express with smaller overhead bins. Your Silver status will get you zone 2 boarding which should let you find over-head bin space - just try to board among the first of the zone 2 group.

There's no way around the smaller bins on the Express planes so if you have any Express flights anything too large to fit the smaller bins goes in the cargo compartment and is returned to you either planeside or in the jetway.