Shuttle Seat Assignments?

Old Aug 1, 2005, 8:45 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Programs: UA Premier 1K: PlAAtinum; DL SM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
Posts: 4,776
Shuttle Seat Assignments?

Hey folks --

I'm on shuttle Friday evening (peak7:00). It's been a few months since I flew it, and last time It seemed I could choose a seat assignment only with a human agent at airport. OLCI assigned me a semi-random seat.

Question -- is this still the case? Or can I select seat on OLCI or kiosk?
Alpha Golf is offline  
Old Aug 1, 2005, 9:07 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WAS, FLL
Programs: AA, B6, CO, DL, FL, UA, US Gold (only took 10k miles), WN, Amtrak
Posts: 1,299
When I flew the shuttle Memorial Day Weekend OLCI spit out a random seat.
GWU ESIA STUDENT is offline  
Old Aug 1, 2005, 10:18 am
  #3  
In memoriam
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: IAD, BOS, PVD
Programs: UA, US, AS, Marriott, Radisson, Hilton
Posts: 7,203
Huh.

Last time I did Shuttle, I checked in at one of the
kiosks - chose 2F, and the thing STILL spat out not
a random seat, but one of the two seats it almost
always gives me. I always ask for 2A or 2F, depending
on the shady side - it tends to preassign me 1A or 3C
for whatever reason. This time I noted that 2F
remained empty on the flight.
violist is offline  
Old Aug 1, 2005, 11:45 am
  #4  
Moderator, Omni, Omni/PR, Omni/Games, FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Between DCA and IAD
Programs: UA 1K MM; Hilton Diamond
Posts: 67,691
I tend to have to use the kiosks to choose seats as I fly the shuttle as a UA-codeshare and part of a larger UA itinerary. UA's online check-in doesn't even work if the US shuttle is included, and US' web site is spotty on whether or not I can check in there.

That said, I always have gotten the seat I selected at the kiosk; it hasn't tried to rearrange my seat in the printing of the BP.
exerda is offline  
Old Aug 8, 2005, 10:44 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Programs: UA Premier 1K: PlAAtinum; DL SM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
Posts: 4,776
Well, thought I'd report back -- checked in at kiosk, selected and got bulkhead window. ^

A good thing too, since I spend 5 hours sitting in it.
Alpha Golf is offline  
Old Aug 9, 2005, 6:32 pm
  #6  
In memoriam
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: IAD, BOS, PVD
Programs: UA, US, AS, Marriott, Radisson, Hilton
Posts: 7,203
Good for you for getting your seat ... 5 hours, though,
sorry ...

Today, the kiosk gave me 2D when I'd just asked it for 2F,
and the agent I summoned told me that the seat obviously
must have been taken ... I asked her to check, and a few
seconds later was on my way with 2F.
violist is offline  
Old Jan 4, 2006, 3:19 pm
  #7  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NYC
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 14,757
My experience is that if I check in at Shuttle airport kiosks, I get the seat I selected. If I check in at non-shuttle stations (connecting to Shuttle), the seat I pick is not the one I get.
seawolf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.