Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > United Mileage Plus (Pre-Merger)
Reload this Page >

Status of UA's 777 Conversion to new International First, Business and Economy Seats

Status of UA's 777 Conversion to new International First, Business and Economy Seats

 
Old May 3, 2010, 3:06 pm
  #811  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NRT/HND, IWK, SAT, BWI, NAP, OKA, AUS, DEN, COS and PUB
Programs: UA 1K.. 1MM
Posts: 995
I dunno.. the seats are, in the end, pretty similar between the two. Both are 100% flat.. which, is probably the most important feature to many.
superEGO is offline  
Old May 3, 2010, 3:15 pm
  #812  
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1P, Marriott Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 53
Originally Posted by why fly
I have got to think it will be put on hold... both CO and UA are in the middle of conversion so now both will be put on hold.
Dunno. Guess it also depends on who smart UAL was when decided to order all the new parts that would be needed for the 777s. It's not like they can just cancel, since I'm guessing that these seats are built specifically for UAL and there is a lead time for manufacturing.
ak99 is offline  
Old May 3, 2010, 3:49 pm
  #813  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto YYZ UA-1K 1MM,QFgold
Programs: Royal Ambassador/ SPG Platinum 75/Marriott gold
Posts: 14,283
Originally Posted by RichardInSF
Why, is it the plan that no one cares about reconfiguration? I, for one, will not pay for business if it isn't a flat bed.
CO new seat is flat? I imagine they will want all the same seats on the 777's also same seat maps so they can swap around planes.. So it would make sense to use ONE seat and not 2 different seats. I assume CO and UA have different seats looking at the pictures.
why fly is offline  
Old May 3, 2010, 4:01 pm
  #814  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LGA/JFK/EWR
Programs: UA 1K1.75MM, Hyatt Globalist, abandoned Marriott LTT (RIP SPG), Hertz PC
Posts: 21,180
Originally Posted by why fly
I assume CO and UA have different seats looking at the pictures.
Really hard to tell - other than the 777 cramming-in issue, the CO flyers say the main difference is that their BF seat is wider - though it's hard to tell looking at that pic, and the CO BF page doesn't say anything about width.
UA-NYC is offline  
Old May 3, 2010, 4:14 pm
  #815  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northeast Kansas | Colorado Native
Programs: Amex Gold/Plat, UA *G, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott LT Gold, NEXUS, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 21,763
When I have flown on the INTL 777, the FAs have done the safety briefing manually. I assumed this was because the video screens and C & F had to be stowed. With the new config, will they start using the safety video, or will they still do a manual briefing?
FriendlySkies is offline  
Old May 3, 2010, 4:43 pm
  #816  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto YYZ UA-1K 1MM,QFgold
Programs: Royal Ambassador/ SPG Platinum 75/Marriott gold
Posts: 14,283
Originally Posted by UA-NYC
Really hard to tell - other than the 777 cramming-in issue, the CO flyers say the main difference is that their BF seat is wider - though it's hard to tell looking at that pic, and the CO BF page doesn't say anything about width.
I have used UA new C seats lots, and they are great I like them much better than the pods, of other airlines. I dont find the UA seats to narrow but im only 160lbs.
why fly is offline  
Old May 3, 2010, 5:22 pm
  #817  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: UA 1K; SPG Plat; Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 2,179
Originally Posted by FriendlySkies
When I have flown on the INTL 777, the FAs have done the safety briefing manually. I assumed this was because the video screens and C & F had to be stowed. With the new config, will they start using the safety video, or will they still do a manual briefing?
Possibly, however there is still the issue of the bulkhead economy seats with no screen, which is not an issue on the 747. I guess they can do it on the 767 so why not?
boifromtroy is offline  
Old May 4, 2010, 3:40 am
  #818  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 11,500
Originally Posted by TomKozski
When is the next 777 scheduled to get the new seats? I guess we'll be able to tell if the next one goes in as planned.
Originally Posted by why fly
I have got to think it will be put on hold... both CO and UA are in the middle of conversion so now both will be put on hold.
Feeling uneasy, that the second plane has not gone in. If it does not, this suxxs!
cesco.g is offline  
Old May 4, 2010, 7:38 am
  #819  
In memoriam
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL (ORD), Phoenix AZ (PHX)
Programs: UA 1K 1.9MM, Starwood Platinum, a nothing in several others
Posts: 5,176
The second plane cannot go in yet as the 30 day period is not up yet for the prototype.
gfowler-ord-1k is offline  
Old May 4, 2010, 7:50 am
  #820  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.035MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CCC Elite+; MSC C-12; CWC Au-197; WoH Dis
Posts: 52,236
Originally Posted by gfowler-ord-1k
The second plane cannot go in yet as the 30 day period is not up yet for the prototype.
I can see a restriction on when the second plane can be signed off, but what's the logic of not starting the work yet? I wouldn't expect they've hit any issues that would require changes.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old May 4, 2010, 7:59 am
  #821  
In memoriam
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL (ORD), Phoenix AZ (PHX)
Programs: UA 1K 1.9MM, Starwood Platinum, a nothing in several others
Posts: 5,176
In previous discussions with UA managers I was told that part of the 30 days is necessary to update drawings and procedures because of issues that were found when doing the prototype -- there are always some.

Last edited by gfowler-ord-1k; May 4, 2010 at 3:08 pm
gfowler-ord-1k is offline  
Old May 4, 2010, 11:42 am
  #822  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat *G/DL Plat/Marriott Ti/WoH Glob
Posts: 141
I was looking at CO's businessfirst seats and they seem to be almost identical to the UA business seats or at least made by the same manufacturer. Perhaps they'll continue with the UA reconfig and simply convert CO's widebody fleet to the new UA 3-class configuration.
smichelm is offline  
Old May 4, 2010, 11:54 am
  #823  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 124
CO's website says that the seats are 22" wide measuring from the inside of one armrest to the inside of the other armrest, so they are pretty close to being the same width. However, CO's 777s are configured 2-2-2 instead of 2-4-2. It is going to be interesting to see how this works out.
DonSFO is offline  
Old May 4, 2010, 12:04 pm
  #824  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Programs: United MP 1p, PC Ambassador, GP Platinum
Posts: 439
Originally Posted by smichelm
I was looking at CO's businessfirst seats and they seem to be almost identical to the UA business seats or at least made by the same manufacturer. Perhaps they'll continue with the UA reconfig and simply convert CO's widebody fleet to the new UA 3-class configuration.
Jeff and Glen did mention that they are expecting $1.2 billion in transaction costs from the merger. I know a great deal of that will be for IT but maybe they've budgeted some in there for fleet transitions. Really it shouldn't be that hard as UA and CO share common long haul aircraft types and CO only has 46 widebodies.
IADtoWhere is offline  
Old May 4, 2010, 12:16 pm
  #825  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,044
Do we know which of the three SFO-LHR flights the new 777 will be put on?
abcx is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.