Community
Wiki Posts
Search

My 2009 "road to 30" eqs (premier elite)

Search this Thread

Old Dec 31, 2008, 11:54 am
Original Poster

Programs: United 'Cattle Car', American, JetBlue Airways, Marriott Rewards 'Gold', Amtrak AGR 'Select'
My 2009 "road to 30" eqs (premier elite)

Hiya...I'm on a mission from God - going for the road to 30 EQS by flying as many flight segments as I can (In Jan, LAX-SFO-SMF and back) I'm always short of reaching Premier, so I'm going for this and on several times this next year do 'Vegas Runs' (LAX-LAS and turnaround the same day) so I can be home for dinner *** I've never done a "Mileage Run" before, but I've got my first "Vegas Run" scheduled the day before my birthday (01/24/09) at only 91.00 R/T - I do stuff like this I should make 2P by Sept?? We'll see. Loyality to one airline is the thing, but I need to focus on EQS to make it - being short 7,000 miles EQM is not what I want. Any opinions or suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks and happy flyin' in '09 *** Joe G. near LAX
Old Dec 31, 2008, 11:57 am
Suspended

Programs: UA-1K, Marriott-Gold, SPG-Gold, IC RA/Plat, Amtrak Select
It depends how much you fly. at this rate 15 RTs will get you 2P.

But if you take a connecting flight you will earn 2 EQS for one way (LAX-SFO-LAS)
Old Dec 31, 2008, 11:58 am

Programs: HH Diamond, Marriott Titanium, Hertz President's Circle, UA Silver, Mobile Passport Unobtanium
You can do transcons out of LAX for $200 or so....5,000 EQMs per trip (roughly). If you are doing mileage runs to make 2P, seems that route would be easier than segments. YMMV.
Old Dec 31, 2008, 12:11 pm

Programs: AA Pro (mostly B6) OZ♦ (flying BR/UA), BA Silver Hyatt LT, Wynn Black, Cosmo Plat, Mlife Noir
$45 per seg is decent, but as mentioned, for segment running I'd try to knock out 4 segs at a time to speed it up and mitigate the sunk costs (getting to airport, parking cost, time spent in security, etc.).
Old Dec 31, 2008, 12:16 pm

Originally Posted by goriajk