How bad is UA hurting?

Old Oct 23, 2008, 4:15 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

How bad is UA hurting?

I decided yesterday afternoon to fly from LAX to SFO last night. I went on .bomb and found that virtually all of the flights were wide open. Not only that but, after applying a $50 electronic voucher, my round-trip air fare (returning next Tuesday) was only $150. The icing on my cake was my upgrade on 500-milers was confirmed when I booked. Our aircraft was a 757 and the GA told me there were only 77 seats sold. In F, I saw empty seats!

I've been flying this route 2 or 3 times a month for the last two years or so. Previously, even booking a week or so out, I'd have trouble finding a flight on which I could find a seat that wasn't a middle or, worse, airport-assigned. My upgrades, if they'd clear at all, were always done last minute at the gate.

It would appear that the economy is taking its toll, at least on this route. Doesn't bode well for either the airlines or us.

Sidenote: I finally scored a "Glen must go" bracelet. I won't give specifics, but I was happy to wear it on-board.
Old Oct 23, 2008, 4:17 pm

Programs: UA Gold/1MM, AA EXP, Marriott Plat
Do you think it may also just be the route due to the lack of a 500 minimum? I know I shifted most of my LAX->SFO trips to VX
Old Oct 23, 2008, 4:20 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.035MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CCC Elite+; MSC C-12; CWC Au-197; WoH Dis
Originally Posted by AndrewT84
Do you think it may also just be the route due to the lack of a 500 minimum?
No.
Old Oct 23, 2008, 4:30 pm

Programs: UA 2P
Last April, I got a SFO-LAX RT same day return, booked with two day advanced purchase for $70 after $100 cert. I don't think that they're really hurting all that awful, I mean, they are, but I don't really know how much we can really tell from this one anecdote.