FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   United Mileage Plus (Pre-Merger) (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/united-mileage-plus-pre-merger-504/)
-   -   "Requested united.com information" (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/united-mileage-plus-pre-merger/879978-requested-united-com-information.html)

Diplomatico Oct 22, 2008 11:09 am

"Requested united.com information"
 
Twice in the last week I have received emails from UA with the subject line above. In each of the emails, UA says I've requested a new password and sends me a temporary password to access my MP account so that I can change my password.

Problem is, I haven't requested a new password. I've been careful not to click on any embedded links in the email (to avoid a potential phishing scam)....I've just logged onto united.com and the temporary password does work. Anyone else have this happen?

livitup Oct 22, 2008 11:12 am

Someone is using the "forgot password" link with your MP number or email address.

It could be someone making a simple typo in the MP number, or a attempt by a very junior hacker to get your information.

Either way, it's nothing to worry about, as long as nobody except you has access to your email.

bsemple Oct 22, 2008 11:45 am


Originally Posted by livitup (Post 10559588)
Either way, it's nothing to worry about, as long as nobody except you has access to your email.

Agreed -you could forward them into the .bomb black hole but not much is likely to come back out.

dimramon Oct 22, 2008 12:40 pm

Are you sure the emails are coming from United?
Take a look at the header of the email and see where it is originating from. Or hit reply and see what domain it's coming from.

snic Oct 22, 2008 1:00 pm


Originally Posted by dimramon (Post 10560057)
Are you sure the emails are coming from United?
Take a look at the header of the email and see where it is originating from. Or hit reply and see what domain it's coming from.

Why would the temporary passwords work if they weren't coming from United??

MikeMpls Oct 22, 2008 1:16 pm


Originally Posted by dimramon (Post 10560057)
Are you sure the emails are coming from United?
Take a look at the header of the email and see where it is originating from. Or hit reply and see what domain it's coming from.

The domain is easily spoofed. And if its phishing, it probably originates from a compromised computer in a botnet.

mahasamatman Oct 22, 2008 2:20 pm


Originally Posted by livitup (Post 10559588)
It could be someone making a simple typo in the MP number, or a attempt by a very junior hacker to get your information.

Or, as has happened before, someone at UA testing something on the live system.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:06 pm.


This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.