Re-route due to weather; Original EQM/EQS?

 
Old Dec 10, 07, 11:01 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 342
Re-route due to weather; Original EQM/EQS?

If one of my middle segments of my whole itinerary is through ORD and due to weather issue in ORD, I was re-routed before I even reach ORD, can I get my original EQM/EQS?

How should I do it, fax vs. email vs. call?
Would it change my chance of getting original EQM/EQS if the re-route is initiated by me vs. by the GA?

Thanks in advance for suggestions.
formite is offline  
Old Dec 10, 07, 11:09 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sacramento
Programs: UA 2MM/GS; SPG Lifetime Plat; MHC Lifetime; Tar Heel forever; and I "Dig the Pig" at Piggly Wiggly
Posts: 12,098
Take a copy of original itinerary. I just write on the page, with large letters, "Re-routed due to weather. Please credit miles for itinerary as purchased." Fax it in. I've always rec'd credit with 48 hours, if not sooner. Reports indicate that mailing the request in takes significantly longer.

Fax: 605.341.6140

Last edited by kevinsac; Dec 10, 07 at 11:14 am
kevinsac is offline  
Old Dec 10, 07, 12:27 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Programs: UA 1K MM - DL DM - Marriott Gold - Starwood Gold
Posts: 268
IME, the magic words you ask for are "original routing credit". I've had success just calling MP and requesting this over the phone.

Safe travels...
LAX-1K is offline  
Old Dec 10, 07, 1:24 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFO
Programs: UA MMGold, HH Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 1,262
If you got re-routed through other airlines, save your BP. Need to send in the BP when request for original miles in that case.
wendySFO is offline  
Old Dec 11, 07, 9:49 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA (Or on a plane going far away)
Programs: DL: DM / Royal Ambassador /PC:Plat / Hertz:5*
Posts: 617
Originally Posted by kevinsac View Post
Take a copy of original itinerary. I just write on the page, with large letters, "Re-routed due to weather. Please credit miles for itinerary as purchased." Fax it in. I've always rec'd credit with 48 hours, if not sooner. Reports indicate that mailing the request in takes significantly longer.

Fax: 605.341.6140
I faxed that number regarding missing credits 2 weeks ago and they never posted. Didn't seem very speedy, can the 1K desk/Email assist with this? I'm in the same predicament, my flight on Sun night was cancelled, and I was put on a non stop, which resulted in me receiving less EQM / EQS.

Thanks,
Astriker is offline  
Old Dec 11, 07, 9:55 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 7,150
Originally Posted by Astriker View Post
I faxed that number regarding missing credits 2 weeks ago and they never posted.
Some have mentioned the need to fax the information a second time and that it should post quickly. I would say try once more before you give up hope.
anc-ord772 is offline  
Old Dec 11, 07, 11:35 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Programs: UA 1K, SPG
Posts: 1,577
Originally Posted by LAX-1K View Post
IME, the magic words you ask for are "original routing credit". I've had success just calling MP and requesting this over the phone.
I had a similar situation, though it was a combination of Mech and Weather that caused the delay that mangled my itin. I emailed MP about this and never heard back. After a week of waiting I called MP and they were happy to oblige. They needed my ticket number, then it took them about five minutes.
fadeforward is offline  
Old Dec 12, 07, 7:08 am
  #8  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: CT/NY
Programs: UA Gold/MM, Marriott LT Titanium, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 4,745
I had a similar situation but was rerouted on US Airways instead. I was told by MP that because US is a *A partner, I would not be able to get the mileage credit per original itineary. Is this true?
PTahCha is offline  
Old Dec 12, 07, 8:55 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 7,150
Call again, I have been re-routed on LH & US and have received original routing credit. Its the agents issue, not yours.
anc-ord772 is offline  
Old Dec 13, 07, 8:32 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA (Or on a plane going far away)
Programs: DL: DM / Royal Ambassador /PC:Plat / Hertz:5*
Posts: 617
Thanks a ton for posting this post and the responses. My flight to SLC was changed from multi legs to non stop (not a bad thing) but I missed out on segments. I faxed it in, and then emailed 1K with the itinerary and fax in PDF. The first person replied that it would not be possible, and thanks for being loyal. I wrote back that its not the first time I've heard of UA doing this, in which they advised that my request would be sent to MP. Within 30 minutes I received an email that the flights had been credited and I could review it online. Now at 125 Segments on UA YTD, it's been a good run.
Astriker is offline  
Old Dec 13, 07, 8:43 pm
  #11  
Moderator, Hertz; FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others
Posts: 12,515
Q. If I waited till after Jan 1st to fax in credits for Dec, will they count for 08 or 07? I'm think 07 but I never know..
jason8612 is offline  
Old Dec 13, 07, 8:47 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFO
Programs: UA MMGold, HH Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 1,262
Originally Posted by jason8612 View Post
Q. If I waited till after Jan 1st to fax in credits for Dec, will they count for 08 or 07? I'm think 07 but I never know..
It will be counted as 07. It is based on the date of the departure, not based on the date of posting.
wendySFO is offline  
Old Dec 13, 07, 8:52 pm
  #13  
Moderator, Hertz; FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others
Posts: 12,515
Originally Posted by wendySFO View Post
It will be counted as 07. It is based on the date of the departure, not based on the date of posting.
thats what I figured.
jason8612 is offline  
Old Dec 14, 07, 10:27 am
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Between DCA and IAD
Programs: UA 1K MM; Hilton Diamond
Posts: 60,302
Happened to me today. I figured the 6:00 am IAD departure would be protection against issues, but fog delayed our taxi and takeoff from IAD, and de-icing of the taxiways in DEN caused me to arrive 1:20 late and miss my onward flights.

UA protected me onto the nonstop DEN-SAN (as expected). Even though the protection shows as full Y, it's going to be short of 1P re-qualification, since I was going to make it at 50003 miles with the original itin, and the new one falls short by several hundred even with the high-yield bonus.

Guess as soon as the flights post, it will be time to fax MP & call, etc. Only thing that irks me is that this is so close to the end of the year and when I will not have time to fly again, it's going to really be nail-biting wait (and I am naturally impatient). I really don't want to not see them post prior to 12/31 and then have to argue to get them back-dated.

(Then again, that's the pessimist in me; I've never had a problem before and have only had to fax twice on one occasion; every other time it's been taken care of ASAP.)
exerda is offline  
Old Dec 14, 07, 12:47 pm
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 342
As mentioned by LAX-1K, I just called MP and they did the adjustment for me immediately. I guess this will work only if all your flights are on UA metal.
formite is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: