Quick way to change ff# on ticket

 
Old Nov 12, 07, 5:01 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, VA
Programs: HH Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 251
Quick way to change ff# on ticket

I'm flying out tomorrow on UA and when I went to do online check-in I noticed that our travel agent put my MP# on the ticket and not my US# that I consolidate most miles with. What is the easiest and quickest way to get that corrected. I tried online, but UA.com doesn't let you make those changes. Don't want to waste an hour in line at the airport or an hour on the phone if I can avoid it.

ZS
rzsionak is offline  
Old Nov 12, 07, 5:14 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MileagePlus Premier Gold
Posts: 11,522
A quick change like this shouldn't take more than a couple of minutes on the phone, which is your best option.
UnitedSkies is offline  
Old Nov 12, 07, 6:39 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, VA
Programs: HH Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 251
Thanks, the phone line was quick and worked fine. I always assume the worst when it comes to calling any company.
rzsionak is offline  
Old Nov 12, 07, 9:26 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SIN/ZRH (time, not preference)
Programs: UA1K, LH GM, AA EXP
Posts: 35,736
It should actually even be doable at the gate or pretty much at any stage before boarding.
Only in some stations abroad and maybe in IAD (my experience, doesn't have to be universal) agents are not capable of doing so.
weero is offline  
Old Nov 13, 07, 3:31 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: UA 2P, SPG Gold
Posts: 275
You can also do this at the Easy Check In machine (Mr. Chicken). Not sure about OLCI, though...
NotThatTed is offline  
Old Nov 13, 07, 9:02 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,082
Originally Posted by weero View Post
It should actually even be doable at the gate or pretty much at any stage before boarding.
Only in some stations abroad and maybe in IAD (my experience, doesn't have to be universal) agents are not capable of doing so.
IME changing numbers at the gate (or any time after check-in) is a real pain and ends up not getting properly processed.
UA840 is offline  
Old Nov 14, 07, 1:12 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SIN/ZRH (time, not preference)
Programs: UA1K, LH GM, AA EXP
Posts: 35,736
Originally Posted by UA840 View Post
IME changing numbers at the gate (or any time after check-in) is a real pain and ends up not getting properly processed.
I did this all the time. And until recently abroad and in IAD never ever had an issue with it.
weero is offline  
Old Nov 14, 07, 1:26 am
  #8  
dwx
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SFO-PEK-BKK-SIN-SYD-MEL
Programs: United Mileage Plus, American AAdvantage
Posts: 5
As long as you aren't changing names, then you should be OK. You may have a problem if your name doesn't match your ticketed reservation.

Calling has always been the way that I handle this, but it's always a good idea to make sure it's all correct at check-in as well.

-dwx
dwx is offline  
Old Nov 14, 07, 1:31 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,333
Originally Posted by UA840 View Post
IME changing numbers at the gate (or any time after check-in) is a real pain and ends up not getting properly processed.
As long as you get a reprinted boarding pass, they always post to the other program for me when changing at the gate. At both BKK and NRT this was no problem last month - even with BKK's awkward boarding pass collection / gate security setup.
alliance is offline  
Old Nov 15, 07, 7:01 am
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, VA
Programs: HH Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 251
I didn't get a new boarding pass, but when I rechecked the itinerary online it had my US#. I checked my DM account today and it's posted there, so no problems.
rzsionak is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: