Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > United Mileage Plus (Pre-Merger)
Reload this Page >

Secure Flight data incomplete Add "under view my itineraries"

Secure Flight data incomplete Add "under view my itineraries"

 
Old Dec 4, 09, 1:57 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 177
Secure Flight data incomplete Add "under view my itineraries"

I have not seen this before,just log-in to view my DOMESTIC itinerary. REDRESS Number? Is this something new?

Thanks.

Secure Flight data incomplete Add

Secure Flight information

Under the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) Secure Flight program, airlines are required to collect passengers' Secure Flight information at least 72 hours prior to scheduled flight departure. If you are traveling internationally, your passport information will be required. View TSA privacy notice

Secure Flight information Help
Passenger 1 XXX XXX XXXX
Secure Flight information incomplete *First name
Middle name/initial
*Last name
Date of birth
Gender Select Male Female
Do you have a redress number? What is this?
Redress number Travelers who experience extended inquiries during their travel screenings may request to have a redress number assigned to them through the Department of Homeland Security's Travel Redress Inquiry Program (DHS TRIP). This service is designed to help those individuals avoid such screening difficulties during future travels.

No Yes

TSA privacy notice
The transportation security Administration (TSA) requires you to provide your full name, date of birth, and gender for the purpose of watch list screening, under the authority of 49 U.S.C. section 114, the Intelligence Reform and Terrorist Prevention Act of 2004, and 49 C.F.R. parts 1540 and 1560. You may also provide your redress number, if available. Failure to provide your full name, date of birth and gender may result in denial of authority to enter the boarding area. The TSA may share the information that you provide with law enforcement or intelligence agencies or others under its published system of records notice. For more on TSA privacy policies, or to review the system of records notice and the privacy impact assessment, please visit the TSA website at www.tsa.gov
Travelwithpet is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 2:13 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 旧金山/Old Gold Hill/SFO
Programs: UA 1P, Marriott Platium, SPG
Posts: 1,001
Yep, I got it too. They have been advertising this on the site for awhile, looks like it finally started.
HaeMaker is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 2:57 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, Omni Black, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,425
I got it too. I have two issues.

1) I tried to enter the info, but it wouldn't let me save. Bug?

2) 72 hours? How do they expect this to work with last minute travelers?
N1120A is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 3:10 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 765
Originally Posted by N1120A View Post
2) 72 hours? How do they expect this to work with last minute travelers?
If I had to guess you'd probably be asked during booking and check-in. Most likely you won't be able to get your BP until you provide this (I suppose they could refuse to fly you if you don't give this ahead of time, but this seems a tad unlikely).
okrogius is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 3:17 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, Omni Black, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,425
Originally Posted by okrogius View Post
If I had to guess you'd probably be asked during booking and check-in. Most likely you won't be able to get your BP until you provide this (I suppose they could refuse to fly you if you don't give this ahead of time, but this seems a tad unlikely).
Makes no sense though, since a huge part of the flying public books in shorter than 72 hour intervals. E-Fares would be practically useless. The weird thing is, I am sure UA already has my birthday and gender, which is all this really asks for.
N1120A is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 3:23 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East Coast
Programs: United Mileage Plus/ GS
Posts: 62
Do you have a redress number? What is this?

The Department of Homeland Security’s Travel Redress Inquiry Program (DHS TRIP) is a single point of contact for individuals who have inquiries or seek resolution regarding difficulties they experienced during their travel screening at transportation hubs--like airports and train stations--or crossing U.S. borders, including:

* denied or delayed airline boarding
* denied or delayed entry into and exit from the U.S. at a port of entry or border checkpoint
* continuously referred to additional (secondary) screening


more information can be found at. http://www.dhs.gov/files/programs/gc_1169676919316.shtm


Happy flying!

Unitedfa
unitedfa is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 3:56 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 旧金山/Old Gold Hill/SFO
Programs: UA 1P, Marriott Platium, SPG
Posts: 1,001
Originally Posted by N1120A View Post
2) 72 hours? How do they expect this to work with last minute travelers?
I imagine you get SSSS if you are last minute...
HaeMaker is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 6:41 am
  #8  
Moderator: Smoking Lounge; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SFO, CDG, PBI
Programs: Lifetime (for now) Gold MM, HH Gold, Giving Tootsie Pops to UA employees, & a retired hockey goalie
Posts: 28,351
just tired "updating" my info and it didn't work either.

a while back, i had mp change my info from goalie m.i. last name to match my d/l and passport of goalie middle name last name but mp can't add a middle name so they removed the m.i. and made my first name "goalie middlename".

so with that, i tried entering my info both as "goalie middlename", left middle initial blank, last name and also as goalie, middle name in the middle initial field (where it took my full middle name) last name and it failed on both tries.


edited to add: just tried it under firefox using "goalie middlename" as my first name (as it is under mp) and left the middle name field blank and it took (and it updated both of my itineraries)

Last edited by goalie; Dec 4, 09 at 6:58 am
goalie is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 6:55 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K 1MM, AA GOLD 1MM, Global Entry
Posts: 472
I just tried adding the information for a flight tomorrow, and it wouldn't save. I'll find out in about an hour whether or not I can check in for that flight.
ms_go is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 7:05 am
  #10  
Moderator: Smoking Lounge; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SFO, CDG, PBI
Programs: Lifetime (for now) Gold MM, HH Gold, Giving Tootsie Pops to UA employees, & a retired hockey goalie
Posts: 28,351
Originally Posted by ms_go View Post
I just tried adding the information for a flight tomorrow, and it wouldn't save. I'll find out in about an hour whether or not I can check in for that flight.
what browser are you using and see the addition to my post just above yours as to how i got it to work using my middle name.
goalie is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 7:26 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,332
Originally Posted by HaeMaker View Post
Yep, I got it too. They have been advertising this on the site for awhile, looks like it finally started.
The "secure flight data" shown on United's itineraries is an error in my case.

There is no missing information concerning me despite the note that appears on United's site advising me of missing data.

When I checked in for the outbound flight, my passport information was entered by the check-in agent. At that time, United had my personal data required by the new law.

When I returned to the U.S. yesterday and used the Customs and Border Protection (CBP) "GOES" machine in IAD, all my personal information was already in CBP computer, including my flight number.

Considering that the CBP had all my information stored in its computer when I arrived in the U.S. (including United's flight number), it is obvious that the notation on United's site in connection with "missing information" is an error.
dgcpaphd is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 8:19 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K 1MM, AA GOLD 1MM, Global Entry
Posts: 472
I did not try adding the Secure Flight information (after my previous attempt; several posts up), and I had no problem checking in for my flight tomorrow morning.

Thanks, goalie, for the tip. I'll try that later and see if it works for several other upcoming trips. I use Firefox, by the way.
ms_go is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 9:08 am
  #13  
Moderator: Smoking Lounge; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SFO, CDG, PBI
Programs: Lifetime (for now) Gold MM, HH Gold, Giving Tootsie Pops to UA employees, & a retired hockey goalie
Posts: 28,351
Originally Posted by ms_go View Post
I did not try adding the Secure Flight information (after my previous attempt; several posts up), and I had no problem checking in for my flight tomorrow morning.

Thanks, goalie, for the tip. I'll try that later and see if it works for several other upcoming trips. I use Firefox, by the way.
now it will be interesting to see how your return flight olci goes after updating your info
goalie is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 10:16 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lawrence, KS | MCI
Programs: UA*G, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Plat., NEXUS, Amex, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 20,197
Originally Posted by dgcpaphd View Post

When I returned to the U.S. yesterday and used the Customs and Border Protection (CBP) "GOES" machine in IAD, all my personal information was already in CBP computer, including my flight number.
Just a clarification.. GOES is the system you use to enroll for the trusted traveler program. Global Entry is the machine that you used in IAD..
FriendlySkies is offline  
Old Dec 4, 09, 10:29 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 685
We are unable to save your Secure Flight information. Please try again later.

Getting this too. Tried all combinations (Safari/Firefox, middle names etc) for a reservation next Wednesday - no dice.
djmp is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread