Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Consolidated ORD connection time/logistics-Domestic & International

Old Aug 5, 2016, 8:06 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
The People Mover /ATS, OíHareís (ORD) shuttle train, to close until Fall 2019





E to C gate shuttle discountinedMCT Feb 2021 from ExpertFlyer.com
Code:
STANDARD.D/D...D/I...I/D...I/I.
ONLINE .50 1.15 1.30 1.30
OFFLINE .50 1.15 1.30 1.30
** OR * ARE ALL

UA-UA DD .45 AUA - ALL
UA-UA DD .45 DUB - ALL
UA-UA DD .45 FLT 3160 - 6384 - FLT 1 - 2839 NAS - ALL
UA-UA DD .45 FLT 3160 - 6384 - FLT 3160 - 6384 NAS - ALL
UA-UA DD .45 NAS - ALL
UA-UA DD .45 SNN - ALL
UA-UA DD .40 FLT 3160 - 6384 - FLT 1 - 2839
UA-UA DD .40 FLT 3160 - 6384 - FLT 3160 - 6384
UA-UA DD .35
UA-UA DI .45 AUA - ALL
UA-UA DI .45 DUB - ALL
UA-UA DI .45 NAS - ALL
UA-UA DI .45 SNN - ALL
UA-UA DI .40
UA-UA ID 1.30 GRU - ALL
UA-UA ID 1.25 HKG - ALL
UA-UA ID 1.25 MEX - ALL
UA-UA ID 1.25 MTY - ALL
UA-UA ID 1.25 PEK - ALL
UA-UA ID 1.25 PVG - ALL
UA-UA ID 1.25 SIN - ALL
UA-UA ID 1.20
UA-UA II 1.30 GRU - ALL
UA-UA II 1.25 HKG - ALL
UA-UA II 1.25 MEX - ALL
UA-UA II 1.25 MTY - ALL
UA-UA II 1.25 PEK - ALL
UA-UA II 1.25 PVG - ALL
UA-UA II 1.25 SIN - ALL
UA-UA II 1.20
older MCT ORD MCT data - Sept 2016

Related thread:
Consolidated "Connections / Connecting between terminals at ORD" thread
ORD Terminal 5 discussion (more recent posts)


Archive: Consolidated ORD connection time/logistics-Domestic & International {Archive}


Print Wikipost

Consolidated ORD connection time/logistics-Domestic & International

Old Mar 24, 2022, 1:59 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K 1.5 MM, AA PLAT PRO 1MM
Posts: 574
Consolidated ORD connection time/logistics-Domestic & International

Asking for a relative...

Proposed flight is a domestic flight on United into ORD, connecting to a SWISS flight out of terminal 5 with 2:07 for the connection. I thought there used to be an airside bus from T3 to T5 - is that still in place? I live in Chicago so almost never connect here, but this sounds a little tight to me, with little room for error. Thanks for any advice.
ms_go is offline  
Old Mar 24, 2022, 2:08 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Programs: UA MM
Posts: 4,154
Originally Posted by ms_go
Asking for a relative...

Proposed flight is a domestic flight on United into ORD, connecting to a SWISS flight out of terminal 5 with 2:07 for the connection. I thought there used to be an airside bus from T3 to T5 - is that still in place? I live in Chicago so almost never connect here, but this sounds a little tight to me, with little room for error. Thanks for any advice.
The airside bus from T1 and T3 to T5 is suspended... supposedly will restart later this Spring or Summer depending on demand. A two hour connection shouldn't be any problem even if using the landside train. I doubt T5 security will be all that bad because if traffic is that high then, supposedly, they'll have restarted the airside bus to deal with the demand.
JimInOhio is offline  
Old Mar 24, 2022, 3:12 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K 1.5 MM, AA PLAT PRO 1MM
Posts: 574
Originally Posted by JimInOhio
The airside bus from T1 and T3 to T5 is suspended... supposedly will restart later this Spring or Summer depending on demand. A two hour connection shouldn't be any problem even if using the landside train. I doubt T5 security will be all that bad because if traffic is that high then, supposedly, they'll have restarted the airside bus to deal with the demand.
Thank you. This is for a relatively last-minute work trip in a couple of weeks.
ms_go is offline  
Old Mar 30, 2022, 4:38 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Ambassador, AA Platinum, Avis Pres Club, Hertz Pres Circle
Posts: 571
Originally Posted by JimInOhio
Sixty five minutes seems way too pessimistic but maybe they're assuming absolutely everything goes wrong.

I'd keep an eye on the Midwest forum as an O'Hare employee who posts at times often will mention any significant changes coming up to inter-terminal transportation. He's the one gave the heads-up on when the ATS was going back into service well in advance. BTW, the airside bus, pre-COVID, stopped at both T1 and T3 before going to T5.
can you direct me to the Midwest forum please
jimdarcy is online now  
Old Mar 30, 2022, 6:16 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Programs: UA MM
Posts: 4,154
Originally Posted by jimdarcy
can you direct me to the Midwest forum please
See the pinned thread at the top of the Midwest forum:

https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/midwest-455/
JimInOhio is offline  
Old Mar 30, 2022, 7:23 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Ambassador, AA Platinum, Avis Pres Club, Hertz Pres Circle
Posts: 571
Originally Posted by JimInOhio
See the pinned thread at the top of the Midwest forum:

https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/midwest-455/
thanks Jim
jimdarcy is online now  
Old Apr 9, 2022, 12:38 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: HPN, LAX, HNL, or somewhere in between
Programs: UA 1K, JetBlue Mosaic
Posts: 437
I'm flying HPN-ORD-SFO in two weeks with a 48 minute connection in ORD. I expect the White Plains flight to land in Concourse F and the San Francisco flight to depart from Concourse C. Thankfully, the ORD-SFO flight I'm on isn't the last of the day so I assume I'm protected against delays. I've done the C-F run before and know I can make it in about 15 minutes.

Looking to the experts: is this connection too tight to gate-check my carry-on on the regional jet? Should I just plan on checking my bags all the way through at White Plains? Is there any risk my checked bags won't make the connecting flight?

Last edited by JALsnipe; Apr 9, 2022 at 12:43 pm
JALsnipe is offline  
Old Apr 9, 2022, 1:23 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Programs: UA MM
Posts: 4,154
Originally Posted by JALsnipe
I'm flying HPN-ORD-SFO in two weeks with a 48 minute connection in ORD. I expect the White Plains flight to land in Concourse F and the San Francisco flight to depart from Concourse C. Thankfully, the ORD-SFO flight I'm on isn't the last of the day so I assume I'm protected against delays. I've done the C-F run before and know I can make it in about 15 minutes.

Looking to the experts: is this connection too tight to gate-check my carry-on on the regional jet? Should I just plan on checking my bags all the way through at White Plains? Is there any risk my checked bags won't make the connecting flight?
Which aircraft type do you have for the first flight?
JimInOhio is offline  
Old Apr 9, 2022, 1:49 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: HPN, LAX, HNL, or somewhere in between
Programs: UA 1K, JetBlue Mosaic
Posts: 437
Originally Posted by JimInOhio
Which aircraft type do you have for the first flight?
CRJ-200 HPN-ORD
773 ORD-SFO

Sadly, the 550s haven't made it to White Plains yet.
JALsnipe is offline  
Old Apr 9, 2022, 1:52 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Programs: UA MM
Posts: 4,154
Originally Posted by JALsnipe
CRJ-200 HPN-ORD
773 ORD-SFO

Sadly, the 550s haven't made it to White Plains yet.
With that connection time, I would check my bag.
JALsnipe likes this.
JimInOhio is offline  
Old Apr 10, 2022, 12:31 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, UA Gold, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 14,513
Another vote for checking. It's going to get tossed around the hold anyway, and I would not want to gamble the connecting on unloading of the CR2. Plus if you check, less to worry about if you board ORD-SFO late.

Bags in general make connections more often than pax because route can be more direct and there is no T-15 offload.
findark is offline  
Old Apr 10, 2022, 12:38 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: HPN, LAX, HNL, or somewhere in between
Programs: UA 1K, JetBlue Mosaic
Posts: 437
Iím not too worried about bin space on the 772 since Iím in J, but I hear you that itís not worth the unload risk since the majority of pax are going to be gate checking on that flight Iím sure.
JALsnipe is offline  
Old Apr 11, 2022, 9:30 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,532
I guess one question is if something goes sideways would you rather:

(A) Make your flight but your bag doesn't -- it's hub-hub and you mention there's another flight later that day, so bag gets delivered to your hotel/house 4-12 hours after you arrive, and you are reimbursed for any immediate replacements you need to buy. Small chance the bag days a day or two to make it.

(B) Miss your flight because you were waiting for the gate checked bag. You are gambling that there is room on the later SFO flight, you will lose your seat assignment, and you will arrive late. Also the stress of waiting for the bag / annoyance of running through the terminal. But zero percent chance you get separated from your bag.

Obviously the specifics of your trip and the contents of the bag are important here, the answer isn't going to be the same for everyone -- you need to look at the failure mode as well as the failure probability.

I can think of various trips I've taken where I would opt for one vs the other.
threeoh is offline  
Old Apr 18, 2022, 1:25 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: TVC
Programs: AA EXP/LT PLT., Marriott LT GLD
Posts: 504
QR to UA Domestic @ ORD T5

Arriving from DOH but need to transfer bags from QR to UA (TVC) after re-check on 2 different tickets. I have only used the bag drops at T5 and only with AA and OW.

So, I need to physically check in with a UA agent @ T5, if possible. Can I do that at a desk on the lower level, or is it merely a bag drop facility?

I have *A via an AA-ANA status match if that makes any difference. The thought of schlepping 4 bags to T1 is not appealing, and I can do an AA connection, but at a huge price difference.

TIA.

Last edited by WineCountryUA; Apr 19, 2022 at 10:59 am Reason: Moved to subject thread
planecrashlaw is offline  
Old Apr 18, 2022, 6:11 pm
  #15  
Moderator: United Airlines
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA LT Plat 2MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Plat
Posts: 67,071
Originally Posted by planecrashlaw
Arriving from DOH but need to transfer bags from QR to UA (TVC) after re-check on 2 different tickets. I have only used the bag drops at T5 and only with AA and OW.

So, I need to physically check in with a UA agent @ T5, if possible. Can I do that at a desk on the lower level, or is it merely a bag drop facility?

I have *A via an AA-ANA status match if that makes any difference. The thought of schlepping 4 bags to T1 is not appealing, and I can do an AA connection, but at a huge price difference.

TIA.
with a separate ticket you will have to go to a UA check-in desk and get your bag checked in (pay any fees), not a bag-drop. Bag drop needs a existing, valid bag tag. Don't know if the UA check-in at T5 will take domestic bags or not.

Last edited by WineCountryUA; Apr 19, 2022 at 10:59 am Reason: Split post and moved to subject thread
WineCountryUA is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.